Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

East Asian Art

Research aid for students in Dr. Miller's courses at Southwestern University

Special Collections

Special Collections contains many unique and rare resources and is accessible to all SU students- take advantage of this fantastic opportunity!

Oriental Ceramic Art by Stephen W. Bushell is a five-volume work of great significance and beauty held in our library's Special Collections. Read more here.

Oversized Art Books

The library holds a number of oversized art books that are in a separate section of the library. They are on the first floor, at the end of the Periodicals Room.

E-Books in SLC collection

Search Worldcat@SU for your subject, author, or title and limit your search to E-Book format. We have a robust selection of titles from ACLS Humanities E-Books and the eBook Collection from EBSCOhost (for more info/troubleshooting, see their guide.)

Sample Books in the SLC Collection

Searching WorldCat Local

Worldcat@SU is the library's online catalog.  Search it to find out what books, e-books, videos, DVD's, CD's and more are available in our library's collection. Search on the Library home page or here:

__________________________________________________________________________________________

keyword search is the most general kind of search you can do. This will look for your search term in the entire bibliographic record for an item -- title, author, subject, contents, etc. Keyword searches can help you identify book chapters devoted to your subject, too.

Advanced Keyword searching will enable you to construct more complex searches, specifying a combination of subject or title keywords, formats, languages, locations, and more.

You can refine your keyword search using these tips:

- use quotes to search phrases: "folk art"
- use + to mark essential terms: +drawing
- use * to mark important terms: *iconography
- use ? to truncate: art? (this will bring up results for art, arts, artist, artistic, etc.)

- use AND , OR , NOT (in caps) to narrow or broaden your search as needed

__________________________________________________________________________________________

It is especially helpful to know subject headings used for your topic so that you can do a Subject search.

Always ask a librarian for help if you are not finding what you need. It may simply be a matter of figuring out the right terminology.

You can use the Subject Keyword search to find books about artists, art movements, historical periods, individual art works, and more. A few examples of subject headings  (used in Worldcat@SU and many other databases as well) are below.

Art
Architecture
Architecture, China--History
Art, Chinese
Art--China
Art objects, Chinese
Art, Japanese
Art, Japanese--Edo period, 1600-1868
Art, Korean
Art and history--China
Bronzes, Ancient--China Pottery, Japanese Shinto art
Symbolism in art--ChinaTombs--China--History

Get It!

When you are doing research, you may find a book, score, DVD, CD, or article you need that is not in our collection. If this happens, you can request it through Get It!. Our library will either borrow the item from another library on your behalf, or we will purchase it, depending on information you provide. This service is free to you but can take time, so start early!