Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

East Asian Art

Research aid for students in Dr. Miller's courses at Southwestern University

Is it Scholarly?

Remember to always evaluate your source. 'Peer-reviewed', 'Academic Journal', 'refereed' all = Good! Click the Scholarly vs Popular Tab for more!

CNKI Database for Asian art history periodical articles

The Perry-Castaneda Library (PCL) at UT-Austin provides access to the CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) database. Southwestern University students and faculty can use the database at PCL to access full-text Chinese language articles in art history and other disciplines. 

Before going to PCL to search the database, you will need to set up a UT EID, and be authorized at the PCL Courtesy Borrower Desk. Be sure to call before you go to be sure you have everything you need in place and that authorization will be available at the time of your visit.

If SU faculty or students have questions about CNKI or other Chinese materials, they are invited to contact Meng-Fen Su, East Asian Studies Liaison Librarian, in PCL 2.312E, or by calling (512) 495-4530.

A list of Chinese databases at UT can be found at Databases A-Z : Chinese+Studies.

Databases

You can search for journal articles within WorldCat, however, don't limit yourself just to these! Search in the databases themselves to find better results. Browse all SU's Databases A-Z and remember that you can sort them by category/subject matter.

These databases will allow you to search by keyword or subject heading for scholarly journal articles on topics related to this course. For additional help selecting a database specific to your own topic, see a librarian.

Best Bets:

Using AND, OR, and NOT for better search results

To focus a search, particularly when your topic contains multiple search terms, use Boolean operators to connect various pieces of information to find more precise results.

  • Boolean operators form the basis of mathematical sets and database logic.
  • They connect your search words together to either narrow or broaden your set of results.
  • The three basic Boolean operators are: AND, OR, and NOT.

Remember Boolean Operators need to be UPPERCASE when you type them into the search box.

Boolean Operator AND

Use AND to narrow your search. For example, using "New England AND Patriots" will find articles with both terms, giving you more specific results.

 

 

Boolean Operator OR

Use OR to broaden your results. Using "New England OR Patriots" will find articles with either term, giving you more results. You can use synonyms with OR to help find relevant information.

Boolean Operator NOT

Use NOT to filter out results with terms you don't need. For example "New England AND Patriots NOT football" will filter out articles with the term "football".

Where's the Full Text?

Once you have found a citation for a useful article in an index or database, where can you view the full text of the article?

  • Check to see if the full-text is available in the database you are using.
  • Check the link to Online Periodicals on the library's home page. Type in the title of the journal you want, to find out if the full-text is available in other databases.
  • Check Worldcat@SU to see if we have the journal in print or on microfilm.
  • If you can't find the article in any of these sources, you can request a copy through Get It!

Saving Your Research/Printing

Saving, Printing, & Organizing articles in EBSCO Databases:

In our EBSCO Databases like Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, and many others, use the Tools Menu on the right hand side of the screen to get the content out of the database. You can email the article to yourself, add it to a folder, or save it to your computer or your flash drive.

Email: From the article or article record page, click Email and enter your email address when prompted. You'll get a persistent link or "permalink" to the article sent to you. 

To save the full text of an article when PDF full text is available: Select the link for PDF full text in the article (located on the left). In the PDF full text article, use your mouse's right button to select "Save as" to save the PDF OR use the print button that will appear at the bottom of the article. 

To save the full text of an article when HTML full text is available: In the article, click the "Save" option in the tools menu on the right. A box will pop up in the center of your screen; be sure "HTML Full text" is selected. Click the yellow Save button. From the next screen, use your browser to save the page (in Internet Explorer, select File-Save as; in Firefox, select File-Save file as; in Chrome, right click and select Save as). This will save the complete HTML file to your computer. 

"Add to folder": This option allows you to add articles from any EBSCO database to a holding folder. You can create a free My EBSCOhost account, which will allow you to sign in from any computer.

Without an account, you can still use the folder for your session, but if you close your browser you'll lose all saved articles. A librarian can help you set up an EBSCO folder account if you need help.

Save articles to your Google Drive: First, log into your SU Google Drive. Then click the Drive icon next to an article to send a PDF of the full text (if available) to your Google Drive account.