Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Perseus Digital Library
An evolving digital library of full-text resources for the study of the ancient world and beyond. Includes books, papers, images, and maps from the archaic and classic Greek world, ancient Rome, and the Renaissance. Also included are Latin texts and tools, ancient science materials, Greek lexicography, art and archaeology texts, and works of Christopher Marlowe and Shakespeare.
Classical Language Instruction Project
Princeton University's "collection of samples of Greek and Latin poetry and prose texts, read by various scholars in different styles. It is designed to help students of the Classical languages acquaint themselves with the sound of Greek and Latin and to practice their own reading skills."
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
From its inception, Diotima has maintained its reputation as an unparalleled source for information about women and gender in the ancient world. Includes bibliographies, course materials, links to visual images, an anthology with recent translations and full texts of essays, and more.
Electronic Resources for Classicists: the Second Generation
An introduction to classics resources on the Internet. Items are grouped by type of resource, such as gateways, e-text archives, professional organizations, etc...
Greek Mythology Link
The Greek Mythology Link is primarily concerned with the creative, artistic, literary and inspiring aspects of the Greek myths. The Greek Mythology Link is not concerned with the historical, religious, liturgical, anthropological, archaeological, philosophical, ideological, sociological, linguistic, or psychoanalytical approaches to the Greek myths. Comparative mythology and literary analysis are not the main concern of this site either. References to these or similar analytical approaches are occasional.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
"Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR) (ISSN 1055-7660) publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). This site is the authoritative archive of BMCR's publication, from 1990 to the present."
Getty Thesaurus of Geographical Names (TGN)
The TGN is a structured vocabulary containing around 1,000,000 names and other information about places. This could provide help while determining archaeological site names throughout history.
PHI Latin Texts
"This website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity."
Films On Demand
Films On Demand is a database of documentaries and educational films, which includes a number of movies on antiquity. To find them, click on "Subjects" and browse "Anthropology", "Art & Architecture", "History", and "Philosophy & Religion". You can also use the Advanced Search feature.
Here's a segment from the film "The Odyssey of Troy":