Research Guides: Classics: Subject Guide: Journals & Articles

Where to Find Scholarly Sources

The library has subscriptions to databases containing scholarly articles in many subject areas, and articles from popular magazines and newspapers. Databases featured in this box are particularly useful for finding information in the field of Physics. Should you need help finding sources, please consult a librarian.

Databases by Subject
Finding Sources: in the Library and Online Searching
If you need help finding specific types of sources, see this InfoGuide which covers many types of resources, from literary analysis to film reviews to statistics.
Databases A-Z

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great starting point for research. Scholarly, multi-discipline, full-text journal database designed specifically for academic institutions. Covers the social sciences, education, computer sciences, engineering, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Includes full-page images & color-embedded images. Contains over 13,690 indexed and abstracted journals, nearly 9,100 full-text journals, and full-text for more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals.

Artstor NEW LINK This link opens in a new window
Online resource of more than one million high-quality images in the arts, humanities, and sciences. Also includes a set of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Provides over 1.6 million digital images.

Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Provides citation information for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems and fiction. Photographs, paintings and illustrations are also referenced. Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more 2,300 journals and contains more than 2.9 million records.

JSTOR: Journals, primary sources, and books This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals, more than 60,000 e-books, and over 2 million primary sources. Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social science and life sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields, beginning in 1940. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysics logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Contains information from over 680 journals from more than 50 countries.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text of hundreds of journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from scholarly publishers, mostly university presses. Some books also included. Provides 17 research areas ranging from Area and Ethnic Studies to Women's Studies, Gender and Sexuality.

Worldcat@SU has the ability to search for books, audiovisual materials, and journals as well as for articles in our most popular, multi-disciplinary databases (Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, and Project Muse).

WorldCat@SU This link opens in a new window

Worldcat@SU How-to
This InfoGuide will explain how to search the library's catalog using Worldcat@SU.
Worldcat@SU Basic Search Tutorial
This presentation will teach you how to search in WorldCat to find exactly what you need

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Be aware, you may THINK you know all about Google Scholar, but there are probably some aspects that will surprise you. Always wear your Critical Thinking Hat when using Google to find information.

Since this is a presentation and NOT a video, you will need to click the RIGHT ARROW on the presentation to view the next slide. For any videos within the presentation, you will need to click on the video for it to play.