Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In interdisciplinary fields such as Classics, resources in many different subject areas will be useful. To find printed reference material relevant to your topic, start with Worldcat@SU online catalog.
To find reference materials, search using keywords to describe your topic along with types of reference works (i.e. "classics handbook"). You can also check the library's Web pages for subject guides for specific topics to find other suggested sources.
Below are a few titles to get you started. To check call number and location information, search the Worldcat@SU online catalog.
Image of 'Aphrodite, called Venus de Milo' courtesy of ARTstor
Online Reference Sources
Credo E-Reference is a full text online reference collection of more than 400 titles from over 60 publishers. It features entries from atlases, dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides, and other reference books on a wide range of subjects.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition
A fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year, and thousands of links to other web sites selected by Britannica editors.
Perseus Digital Library
An evolving digital library of full-text resources for the study of the ancient world and beyond. Includes books, papers, images, and maps from the archaic and classic Greek world, ancient Rome, and the Renaissance. Also included are Latin texts and tools, ancient science materials, Greek lexicography, art and archaeology texts, and works of Christopher Marlowe and Shakespeare.
Oxford Art Online
A collection of encyclopedia articles on every aspect of the visual arts, painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography, from prehistory to the present day.