Research Guides: Chemistry: Subject Guide: Databases and Journals

Journals

The Smith Library Center provides access to many journals to support the study of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

To search for All Chemistry Journals available in SLC visit this link. Then click Chemistry (or other subjects) to see a complete list of journals.
The American Chemical Society provides access to a range of journals and eBooks that they publish. The complete list of ACS journals may be found here.

Get It! Interlibrary Loan

Get It! is an Interlibrary Loan tool for requesting to borrow items from other libraries.

If an item you need is not available at Southwestern, you may requests materials through Get It! Please put your request in as soon as possible. Get It! requests may take several days or longer to receive. To learn more about interlibrary loan and to place requests for materials please visit Get It!

Southwestern Students, Faculty, and Staff can use this service.

Databases

These databases are recommended for the study of Chemistry.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society Journals (ACS) This link opens in a new window
Environment Index This link opens in a new window
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
FIRST TIME USERS--you must go to https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=6713ED7C-86F3-50AB-44BB-64F05B525C51 WHILE ON CAMPUS and register for an account.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window

Open Access Resources

CHEMINFO -- CHEMINFO helps you find and learn how to use chemistry information resources on the Internet and elsewhere. This site is sponsored by Indiana University, and contains many very useful links.

Common Chemistry -- CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY^® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes.

MIT Open Courseware: Chemistry -- Free lecture notes, video lectures, and other resources from MIT.

PubChem --An open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public.

Science.gov -- Searches select databases and thousands of web sites to provide over 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information.

Web Elements--Periodic Table of the Elements

Wired Chemist -- The Wired Chemist site is sponsored by Franklin and Marshall College for undergraduate students, and is an outstanding source of information.

The World of Chemistry -- Produced by the University of Maryland, this series of 26 half-hour educational videos cover a variety of topics and are designed for high school and college students, and adult learners.