Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre: Subject Guide

Resources for your Theatre research in the Smith Library Center and on the Web.

Research Process- Where Do I Start?!

When first learning about a topic, you may wish to use background sources like encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, etc. to get a clearer idea of what you're looking for.

Look to your assignment to see what types of sources your professor is asking you to use. If you're already comfortable with a topic, you may wish to start looking for scholarly articles right away.

You can begin your research in any of these places. Remember different types of sources contain different kinds of information. 

 

Background Info - What it is and Where to Find It

Reference works are all about the FACTS! 

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, etc., are useful for quickly identifying key facts or researching background information. You can find print and ebook versions by searching Worldcat@SU. 

Your professors do not want you to cite Wikipedia in your papers, but it can be a good place to start finding background information on your topic. The video below can show you how to use Wikipedia to your benefit when starting scholarly research.


The following links provide insight into how often Wikipedia changes and Wikipedia's accuracy:

Theatre Reference Books

These multi-volume sets are in the library's Research Commons collection on the first floor.

Credo E-Reference

Credo Reference is a collection of reference books-encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and more-in all subject areas.  Below is a sample of Theater-related Topic Pages now available on Credo Reference.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a streaming video platform with educational programs from Films Media Group, including many films about plays, drama, and theatre.

Doollee.com

Doollee.com website guide covers modern playwrights, characters, literary agents, publishers and thousands of theatre plays which have been written, adopted or translated into English since 1956. -- website