Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre: Subject Guide

Resources for your Theatre research in the Smith Library Center and on the Web.

Where to Find Scholarly Articles

Creative Commons License
This work was created by Theresa Zelasko and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. Since it covers a variety of topics, it's a good place to start your research for most topics. 

Timesaving Tip: When you view a full record for an article, read the abstract (or summary) to quickly ascertain if it is useful/relevant to your research. Abstracts are usually a paragraph-long or less. 

WorldCat@SU is the library catalog where you can search for books, audiovisual materials, and journal articles.

You may also search for books/articles held by other libraries around the world and request them for use.

 

Theatre Databases

Theatre Jose (Improv Theater), San Jose, CA

Best Bets

Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Has articles on dance, film, drama/theater, stagecraft, broadcast arts, and more. Draws its content from more than 225 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events.

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes the world's research literature in language, linguistics, and literature. Access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. 1963-present.

Literary Reference Center (Ebsco)
Contains biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. 

Photo by BWChicago, courtesy of Flickr and Creative Commons

Find more Databases on Databases A-Z and select Theatre and Dance from the drop down subject menu.