Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can search for books or e-books:
- eBook Collection
This is a searchable EBSCO database of full-text e-books.
SU’s catalog contains records for both books and ebooks.
Southwestern Biology Resources
Animal Diversity Web
The Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is a database containing information on the natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology of animals. The database consists of two parts: thousands of "species accounts" that provide information about individual species of animals, including text, pictures of living animals, photographs and Quicktime Virtual Reality object movies of specimens, and/or recordings of sounds; and a taxonomic analysis of animal groups above the species level, especially phyla, classes, and in some cases, orders and families. It is enriched by many hundreds of hyperlinked pages and images that explore the traits and general biology of these groups.
The Biology Project is an interactive online resource for learning biology developed at the University of Arizona. Richly illustrated, it has been designed for biology students at the college and high school level.
Material Safety Data Sheets
A reliable starting point for exchange of MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) documents, which supplies information on various chemical compounds in the most current format direct from the manufacturer.
UCMP Taxon Lift
The UCMP Web Lift to Taxa is an index to the exhibits in the Phylogeny Wing of the University of California Museum of Paleontology's web pages. This particularly useful for researching specific organisms. If you are interested in a particular period in Earth's history, try the Geologic Time Machine.
Tree of Life
The Tree of Life is a collection of over 1380 World Wide Web pages containing information about the diversity of life. These pages are housed on 20 computers in four countries, and are authored by biologists from around the world. Each page contains information about one group of organisms. The pages are linked one to another in the form of the evolutionary tree of organisms, with the pages branching off from a group's page being about subgroups. For example, the links from the page on frogs leads one to pages on individual families of frogs, and eventually up to some individual species of frogs.
Biotech Life Science Dictionary
The Life Science Dictionary is a searchable site containing more than 8,300 entries in the fields of biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cell biology, genetics, and more.
ITIS, the Integrated Taxonomic Information System
This database is the source for authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. It is produced by a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists.
Internet Directory for Botany
The Internet Directory for Botany is an index to botanical information available on the Internet. It consists of two parts, an alphabetical directory and a categorical directory, and contains links to various pages of interest in botany: Arboreta and Botanical Gardens; Biologists' Addresses; Botanical Museums, Herbaria, and Natural History Museums; Botanical Societies and International Botanical Organizations; Checklists And Floras, Taxonomic Databases, and Vegetation; Conservation and Threatened Plants; Economic Botany and Ethnobotany; Gardening; Images; Journals, Books, Literature Databases, and Publishers; Link Collections and Resource Guides; Listservers And Newsgroups; Lower Plants; Other Resources; Paleobotany, Palynology, and Pollen; Software; University Departments And Other Institutes; Vascular Plant Families.
Human Genome Resources
This Internet resource is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information primarily as a central access point to valuable database resources for human genome researchers. The centerpiece of the opening page, The Genome at a Glance, is a diagram of the 24 human chromosomes with links to additional information on each chromosome. Each chromosome page summarizes that chromosome's sequencing progress and provides further links to disease genes, STS (sequence tagged site) maps, and chromosome alterations associated with cancers. The prominently featured line to NCBI's Genes & Disease page will be of particular interest to biology students and the general public.
Encyclopedia of Life
A not-for-profit internet encyclopedia with entries on species from around the world, created through partnerships with leading museums, universities, libraries and other institutions globally.