Donation is the primary way Special Collections has acquired historical, unique, and important materials. For example, we are the official home, or repository, for the donated materials of Alpha Chi and we hold the papers and unique items of Senator John Tower.
The generosity of our community has helped preserve both Georgetown and Southwestern University’s histories. You and your organization can be a part of that too!
HOW DONATING TO AN ARCHIVE WORKS:
When your group donates its papers, records, and/or images, Special Collections staff will inventory and place the items in acid-free folders and boxes. Those are then stored in secure environmentally-controlled spaces for long-term preservation.
The archivist will then create a finding aid for each box. A finding aid provides a brief description of the organization and contents that were donated. An example of this would be the guides of Alpha Chi, which features the repository mentioned earlier or guides for the Alethean Society and the Glamazons, two SU organizations no longer active today.
Materials and records donated to Special Collections become the property of Southwestern University and cannot be removed from the archives without special permission. This means that once an organization gives an item or collection to us, it becomes a permanent part of the University Archives.
Of course, your records will always be accessible in the reading room during business hours so your organization can see them whenever necessary.
Archiving your organization’s materials at Special Collections ensures that future members will always have access to these resources and historical documents in the future.
Notify Special Collections of your intentions to donate materials.
Pack your records into boxes provided by Special Collections. Each box should be numbered and labeled with your organization’s name.
Create an inventory of every file in each box to describe contents that match with labels.
Email Head of Special Collections, Megan Firestone, a copy of inventory and arrange a transfer of the records.
The organization’s president will be expected to sign an agreement, called the Deed of Gift, finalizing the donation of the records to Special Collections. This will legally transfer the ownership and rights of the records to Special Collections; although visitation is always available.
