Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYS Healing Women: Start Here

This seminar is a feminist, interdisciplinary exploration of religious modes of healing employed by women in different religious traditions in various parts of the world.

Healing Women

Return to FYS / AES Research Hub

           

TIP: Clicking this icon will take you back to the Research Hub.

Spotlight Book

Selected Books from the Smith Library Center

Interdisciplinary Searching

Because these are topics that cross multiple disciplines or explore problems from multiple disciplinary perspectives, I have listed databases in the medical sciences, social sciences, feminist studies and more.  Though academic journal articles covering these issues can be found in resources from virtually all subject areas,  the databases (general and specialized) below are some of the best places to start for your topic(s), beginning with WorldCat@SU.

How to...

 WorldCat@SU is the library's online catalog. Use it to identify printed and electronic books that we own as well as videos, CD's, DVD's, and more. A search by title in the online catalog yields over many titles on alternative medicine.  If you find an item that we don't own that you need for your research, use Get it! and we will get the item from a library that does own it. 

 A few examples of select subject headings relevant to this class are below. Each is a live link directly into the online catalog. Always ask a librarian for help if you are not finding what you need--it may simply be a matter of using the right vocabulary.

Many of the subject headings listed below may also work in the  listed databases as keyword searches. Every database develops its own list of subjects to use. Do a keyword search and compare your results with the subject headings (also called descriptors) in the records you find. They might provide you with better ways to do your search again.

 

 

STEPS TO FIND ARTICLES
Use WorldCat@SU 

The quickest way to find the article is to type the full title in the single search box on the library homepage.  WorldCat@SU will search multiple databases at the same time, presenting you with the article title.  

Find Specific Journal title The Find the Journal by Title TAB allows you to search for full-text journals, as well as browse for titles by disciplines.  Type the title of the journal in the search box, then look down the results page until you locate the correct title.  For example, Animal Cognition.  Now you will  see links to databases which contain full-text articles. Example: Medical Anthropology Quarterly.
Search database to find the full-text article Once you have located an article via searching a library database, check to see if there is a link to a PDF full-text or HTML page with full-text.  You can also check the WorldCat@SU to see if the journal is available in print.  If the article in not online AND the journal is not available in print, then use GET IT!

Use GET IT! 

 

If articles is not available at Smith Library Center, you have another option to getting it.  Use GET IT, our interlibrary loan service.  You will need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in thereafter.
General Multidisciplinary Medical Anthropology Anthropology/Sociology Health/Global Health Religion Hispanic Studies Feminist Studies

Academic Search Complete

Credo Reference

JSTOR

Google

University of Chicago Journals

Films on Demand

Academic Search Complete

Medline Database  via EBSCO 

MEDLINE via PubMed

PsycINFO 

Consumer Health Complete

 

Academic Search Complete

SocioIndex with Full Text

JSTOR

EthnicNews Watch

eBook (digital books) collection

HRAF (Human Relations Area File) World Cultures

Academic Search Complete

Alt  (Alternative) Health Watch

Consumer Health Complete

GaleOnefile: Health & Medicine

Academic Search Complete

Religion and Philosophy Collection

JSTOR

 

 

 Hapi Index

Fuente Academic Premier

JSTOR

 

Academic Search Complete

GenderWatch

Women's Studies International

JSTOR

Another way to find articles is to use a database  You are able to draw on many field of study to investigate this topic.

WorldCat@SU only finds a fraction of the articles available through our databases. Databases allow you to search specifically for articles. Not only do databases find more articles, they provide more precise search tools than WorldCat, yielding better results.

  • Academic Search Complete is a collection of thousands of credible, scholarly full-text journals covering nearly all academic areas of study, including peer-reviewed journals. One hundred of the journals go back to 1975 or earlier.  A great place to start your research.  Tip #1: View an article's full record to read the abstract, or summary, and quickly decide if it is useful for your research.  Tip #2: Use the subject links from the full record to find additional articles.  For example, The Return to the Sacred Path, Healing the Historic Trauma.
  • Alt Health Watch.  Complementary and alternative medicine information for the consumer-health researcher.
  • Credo Reference offers online reference content library database that contains full-text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books that can be searched using keywords.  Use this database to find definitions, overview articles on a topic
  • EthnicNewsWatch.  Articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America; full text and searchable in English and Spanish.
  • Films on Demand. Streaming library video service with immediate access to over 6000 streaming videos from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, NBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Meridian, and others.
  • Fuente Academic Premier provides full text of more than 650 scholarly publications from 18 countries covering many areas of academic study. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.
  • GenderWatch. This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.  For example, Traditional Healing and Spirituality Among Grenadian Women: A Source of Resistance and Empowerment
  • Google Scholar.  Google Scholar is a Web search engine that specifically searches scholarly literature and academic resources.
  • Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI).  Search for journal article citations about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US.
  • Human Relations Area File (HRAF) World Cultures.  While we do not subscribe to the database, we are able to access portions of it.  Here I provide a link to the various cultures around the world, followed by cultural profile and description of the selected country.  For example, North American Hmong.
  • JSTOR.  JSTOR is a multidisciplinary archive collection of credible academic/scholarly journals and books in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.  For example, The Forms and the Power: The Development of Mormon Ritual Healing to 1847.
  • MEDLINE via Ebsco.  Citations to journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry and veterinary medicine.  PUBMED is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of  Medicine. For example, Nursing in the Native American Culture and Historical Trauma.
  • Natural and Alternative Treatments.  Complementary and alternative medicine information for the consumer-health researcher.
  • Prisma Database with Hapi Index. Provides 165 full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Articles are in English, Spanish and Portuguese, and examine all aspects of Hispanic Studies.
  • PsycINFO is a comprehensive international database of psychology literature. It contains relevant materials from related disciplines including education, medicine, social sciences, communication, and organizational behavior.
  • Religion and Philosophy Index. Full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy.
  • SocioINDEX with full text covers sociological research areas such as gender studies, political sociology, social psychology,  socio-cultural sociology, anthropology, etc.  For example, Rethinking Identity and Feminism: Contributions of Mapuche Women and Machi from Southern Chile.

Note:  Always review the references cited by the authors in the footnotes, endnotes, or a bibliography to locate related research on your topic.

 

Here are a few sites related to your FYS topic for you to explore.   Tip:  The ending of the URL address may help you identify the sponsor.  I have selected  commercial sites (.com)some non-profit organizations (.org), and some government departments/agencies (.gov

 

  • Hmong Shamanism -- While inclusive of broader traditions of ancestor veneration and animistic belief in gods, household spirits, and spirits of forest, Hmong Religiosity takes clearest shape as Hmong Shamanism, around the traditional healing practices of txiv neeb, shamans, and their ability to travel and communicate in the spirit world to bring about healing.  Hmong shamans, who can be men or women, have handed down for generations their healing knowledge through oral teaching and apprenticeship.
  • MexConnect (Mexico’s alternative medicine in Amarillo, Texas) -- MexConnect is an electronic magazine providing quality information about Mexico, and promoting Mexico to the world. The magazine has a searchable and cross-indexed database of over 3,300 articles and 6,000 photographs, including 550 photo galleries. It is a registered electronic periodical.
  • Utah Navajo Health System --  We Are Navajo inspires and empowers members of the Navajo Nation in their quest for health, longevity, happiness, wisdom, knowledge and harmony: hózhó.  Click here for TAB (Healthy Living).
  • WHO Global Report on Traditional and Complementary Medicine 2019 - This report is structured in five parts: national framework for traditional and complementary medicine (T&CM); product regulation; practices and practitioners; the challenges faced by countries; and finally the country profiles. 

 

Research isn't complete until you correctly cite all your sources. Provide a complete citation to credit the authors / creators of sources you used, and to let your paper's reader locate and verify these sources. Professor Hernández Berrones requires you to use Turabian style for this course. 

Turabian Quick Guide covers the basics of Turabian formatting and style. For the most complete information, use the Manual, available in the Research Commons and on Reserve.