Skip to main content

Art of Spain

To support Dr. Hajovsky's classes, Spanish Golden Age Painting and Art of Spain 711-1700.

Off-campus access

If you are off campus, clicking on links in this guide to databases that are licensed by the library for access by SU faculty, students, and staff will prompt you to log in using your SUID and password. Once you've logged in, you should remain authenticated for the duration of that browser session and be able to access additional library subscription sources without interruption.

Reference

The following are useful sources for basic, background information, and are an academic alternative to Wikipedia!

Credo E-Reference Credo E-Reference is a full-text online reference collection. It features entries from atlases, dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides, and other reference books on a wide range of subjects covering art history, archeology/anthropology, and other helpful subjects. You can search for images, audio files, maps, video clips. To browse the list of Credo titles, click here.

Oxford Art Online - Grove Art Online Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). It offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools. 

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Interdisciplinary Databases

  • Academic Search Complete Provides full text coverage for more than 5,990 general and scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily. Guide to using Academic Search Complete

  • Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) Bibliography of selected Latin American writings on the social sciences and humanities. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, this reference work is updated annually and available online.

  • HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Provides citations to worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Coverage is 1970 to the present and includes articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 social science and humanities journals. Many of the citations are linked to full text.

  • Historical Abstracts This database is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women?s history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

  • JSTOR JSTOR is an electronic archive of scholarly journals from the humanities, social sciences, and the natural sciences. Each of the 624 titles is an essential or primary one for its field. The JSTOR database is unique because the complete backfiles of core scholarly journals (excluding the most recent five years) have been digitized, starting with the first issues, many of which date back to the 1800s. On the JSTOR homepage, you can search using subject links. For articles on Pre-Columbian, Mesoamerican art, try Anthropology, Archeology, Art & Art History, History, and Latin American Studies. 

  • Project Muse Provides full image journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, in particular the areas of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Films On Demand

Films on Demand is a multi disciplinary database that provides online, streaming videos from Films Media Group. Many full-length videos are available and they cover the subject areas of anthropology, art and architecture, history, literature, languages, and more. 

  • Search the title library by title or segment using keywords, subjects, and other criteria.
  • You can access a list of available individual titles and subject-specific collections.
  • Organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists for others to view.
  • Films on Demand can be accessed 24/7.