Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Resources for Financial Information
There are a variety of social media outlets and webpages to look for company information that are free to use. The website of a specific company is always a great place to start. Also check out industry association websites: they're a treasure trove of information!
The Official Board
Has organizational charts for the world's 30,000 largest corporations
Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR)
EDGAR performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the SEC.
Reuters Business News
Reuters is a news source that reports on financial markets, business, and company information.
Their free app is great for keeping up with business, markets, and world news.
The world's most comprehensive and easy-to-use investment research website, providing access to professional-level research tools such as interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis and intraday stock screeners, as well as market news and commentary.
Stock market news.
We are an industry leader in mining the wisdom of the crowds for insights on every topic of interest to investors. Our content includes curated news, research, opinion and discussion from our editorial team of 56 in addition to 16,600 individual and corporate contributors.
Free Online Investing Resources
First 2 articles online for free. For full, free access, search for Bloomberg.com articles in the Business Source Complete database.
CPI Inflation Calculator
Find out what yesterday's prices are today!
Current info AND historical stock prices by day up to 35 years
Finance education – dictionary, calculators, tutorials, videos. Our mission is to simplify complex financial information and decisions so that our readers have the confidence to manage every aspect of their financial life. We aim to ensure that all of the articles on our site are empowering, unbiased, accurate and inclusive.
Morningstar provides stock market analysis; equity, mutual fund, and ETF research, ratings, and picks; portfolio tools; and option, hedge fund, IRA, 401k, and 529 plan research.
Provides financial news, data and commentary including stock quotes, press releases, financial reports, and original content. It also offers some online tools for personal finance management.
News and articles.
Macroaxis is a very sophisticated, yet simple to use personalized wealth optimization service built for self-guided, socially responsible investors.
The Motley Fool
Stocks, investments, and personal finance.
SEC Investor Education
The SEC’s Office of Investor Education and Advocacy provides a variety of services and tools to address the problems and questions you may face as an investor. We cannot tell you what investments to make, but we can help you to invest wisely and avoid fraud.
Social Media for Business Research
Washington, D.C., April 2, 2013 — The Securities and Exchange Commission issued a report that makes clear that companies can use social media outlets like Facebook and Twitter to announce key information in compliance with Regulation Fair Disclosure (Regulation FD) so long as investors have been alerted about which social media will be used to disseminate such information. You may wish to use the apps below to follow multiple companies' social media posts.
CrunchBase is the free database of technology companies, people, and investors that anyone can edit.
HootSuite is a social media management system for businesses and organizations to collaboratively execute campaigns across multiple social networks from one secure, web-based dashboard.
TweetDeck is a social media dashboard application for management of Twitter and Facebook accounts. Like other Twitter applications it interfaces with the Twitter API to allow users to send and receive tweets and view profiles.
SCORE Austin Chapter
Austin SCORE offers free Small Business Counseling and Resources, low-cost Business Workshops, and special customized services. If you're starting or expanding your business, preparing for a loan, or have existing business issues or opportunities, SCORE Mentors can help.