Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Georgetown, Texas in July 1889
World and US Population
Real time world and US population statistics, updated every minute. This and much more information found at American FactFinder.
- 16th- Early 20th Century Maps of Africa: From Northwestern University, this site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century.
- American Memory: Maps: Historical map collection from the Library of Congress.
- David Rumsey Map Collection: The David Rumsey Collection was started nearly 20 years ago, and focuses primarily on cartography of the Americas from the 18th and 19th centuries, but also has maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, books, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps, including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript.
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection: Extensive list of links to historical map collections online. From the Perry-Castaneda Library.
- Medieval Maps and Images (from the Internet Medieval Sourcebook at Fordham University): Large selection of medieval map images from around the world.
- World Digital Library: Maps: More than 300 map images, dating from 8000BC to 1949AD and representing at least 100 geographic areas, a free service from The Library of Congress.
- Digital Sanborn Maps: Maps of Texas towns and cities dating from 1867.
Data and facts
- American FactFinder: Provides population, housing, income, economic and geographic data, from the U.S. Census Bureau
- Statistical Abstract of the United States: The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- Historical Census Browser: From the University of Virginia, census information starting with data 1790 taken from the volumes of U.S. Census of Population and Housing.
- Gapminder: Select world data from WHO, UN, World Bank, International Agency for Research on Cancer and journals such as Forbes with interactive charts and maps over time.
- U.S. Census Bureau: Published by the U.S. Department of Commerce. Find the latest news and facts, interactive maps, and more.
- 65+ in the United States at the U.S. Census Bureau: A look at the U.S. Population that is 65 and older. Latest issue published in April 1996.