Research Guides: Research Guide: Communication Studies: Databases for Communication Studies

Popular vs. Scholarly Publications

SU's subscription databases provide well organized and highly selective coverage of scholarly journals.

Some databases contain scholarly journals, exclusively. Others have a mix of scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers and other material. In most databases, you can limit your search to scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals.

Primary Communication Studies Database

Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window

Business & Marketing Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Abstracts with Full-Text This link opens in a new window

Other Communication Related Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
JSTOR: Journals, primary sources, and books This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Open Dissertations (Formerly called American Doctoral Dissertations) This link opens in a new window
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window

Newspapers

Black Life In America, Series 3 from Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Hispanic Life In America, Series 3 from Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Newsbank's Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Use this link if you have already set up or renewed your Southwestern account/pass with NYT.

Open Access and other Communication Articles & Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window

Journals Publishing Communications Research
NCA has prepared a list of more than 100 journals that publish scholarship in the discipline of Communication. The list includes the 11 journals published by NCA (in boldface, below), as well as journals published independently or by other associations. NCA does not include on this list journals that have been identified as predatory or pay-to-publish journals. The list is categorized by the journal’s primary focus—a journal may appear in more than one category. -- website

Videos and Images (Multidisciplinary)

Alexander Street Video This link opens in a new window
Artstor NEW LINK This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online-Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window