Skip to main content

Finding News Sources: Historical News Sources

Select Historical News Sources

Reading the newspaper

U.S. History

Historic American Newspapers - Chronicling America - Hosted by the Library of Congress, this site contains digitized historical American newspapers dating from 1836 to 1922.

Google News Archive Search - Use the advanced search feature in Google News to search in the Google News archive and to search a specified date range. 

U.S. News Archives on the Web - Very comprehensive listing of news archives across the country, with information on pricing (if applicable), date ranges, and holdings. 

Digital History Historical Newspaper Articles - Searchable historic news database with article annotations. 

NewspaperCat - Online catalog of digital, historical newspapers from the U.S. and the Caribbean. Hosted by the University of Florida. 

Readers' Guide (print index)
Retrospective indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada from 1890.

Texas History

Portal to Texas History - Major collection of historic Texas newspapers.

Collingsworth Public Library Newspaper Archives - Searchable archive of Texas newspapers dating back to 1909. 

World History

International News Archive on the Web - Broken down by region

International Coalition on Newspapers: Newspaper Digitization Project - Links to digitization projects of historic newspapers world wide. Note that not all sites provide free open access. 

Wikipedia Online Historical Newspaper Archives - List of newspaper archives organized by state and country, with brief description and cost information (if applicable) as well. 

19th Century British Library Newspapers Database - Hosted by the British Library.

Image courtesy of Flickr and the Public Domain