Skip to main content

Finding News Sources: News Databases

News Databases

Newspapers B&W (5)The following databases contain contemporary and historical news items world wide.

General News Sources

LexisNexis Academic provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. The vast majority of the titles on LexisNexis Academic are available in full text. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-K's, 10-Q's, and their exhibits.

Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

TOPICsearch
A current events database including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets and government information on popular topics.

Historical News Sources

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA)
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Alternative News Sources

Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Highly recommended comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full text collection of 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Complete articles dating back to 1995 are available. The database is searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages.

Genderwatch
This database focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

Governmment and Business News Sources

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Allows access to research from the world's leading international relations centers. A customized web search is available which permits the option of limiting searches to carefully reviewed websites of international organization, governnmental bodies, research institutions and news organizations.

CQ Weekly
A weekly source for information on Capitol Hill legislative news and analysis. The CQ Weekly on the Web includes access to the full text of all articles published since August, 1983.

Military & Government Collection
Designed to provide current news about all branches of the military. Full text from over 320 military and general interest publications is included, and indexing and abstracts for over 360 magazines. Some titles included are Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense. This database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.

Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Image courtesy of flickr and the creative commons