Skip to main content

Spanish Research Seminar: Books

Library Resources for Capstone Research

Search for books in WorldCat Local

#1 Tip: use the subject heading hyperlinks

  • Use the "More like this" subject links within individual records to see other items classified under the same heading. Subject headings are standardized tags that describe the content of an item. You can use these tags to find material on the same topic regardless of the words used in the material’s text.

Here are a few subject heading hyperlinks related to the topic of this research seminar. Follow them to find many more books on the same topics, and to find additional relevant subject headings.

Argentina Social life and customs Festivals Mexico | Carnival | Carnival Brazil | Indians of Mexico Games | Soccer Social aspects Latin America | All Soul's Day Mexico | Rites and ceremonies Latin America | Rites and ceremonies Mexico 


#2 Tip: phrase searching

  • Add quotation marks around the terms you're searching to find a whole phrase exactly as written. This is particularly useful if you are looking for a specific book and already have the title.

Use WorldCat Local to search for books, articles, videos, and other items in Smith Library Center and libraries worldwide. Useful features include:

  • see items in other nearby libraries in addition to SLC
  • the ability to request interlibrary loans directly from the catalog
  • refine searches with a sidebar checkbox
  • place items on hold easily‚Äč
Loading

Get It!: Interlibrary loan and acquisitions

If you find a book, article, or other item that isn't in our collection, you can request it through Get It!. Our library will either borrow the item from another library on your behalf, or we will purchase it for the collection.

EBSCOhost's eBook Collection

EBSCOhost eBooks is a full-text scholarly and professional collection. Some of the books in this collection are included in WorldCat Local, but many are not. You will get much better results by directly searching the EBSCOhost eBook database.

Most, but not all, of the books in the collection can be downloaded to your mobile device or computer using EBSCO's eBook app. The brief video tutorials found at the next 3 tabs explain how to begin borrowing eBooks from our collection, and cover some of the unique features of EBSCOhost eBooks.

Use EBSCO's eBook app to download their eBooks to your mobile device. The free app is available for Apple and Android devices. eBooks can also be downloaded to your computer. These brief videos explain how to begin borrowing eBooks from our collection, and some of the unique features of EBSCO eBooks.

Loading

Digital book collections

HathiTrust Digital Library offers a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Advanced and Full Text search options are particularly useful for refining your search.


Google Books  After entering a search and reaching the results screen select Search Tools to narrow down your results.