Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Animal Behavior Research Guide: Web Resources

E-books

You can search for books or e-books using:

  • eBook Collection
    Formerly NetLibrary, a searchable database of full-text e-books acessible

    only by using your SUeID
  • Worldcat@SU
    SU’s catalog accessible only by using your SUeID
  • WorldCat.org
    The universal library catalog which anyone can access


Useful Websites

Giraffe and Ranger Chris

Animal Behavior Society
The Animal Behavior Society was founded in 1964 to promote the study of animal behaviour in the broadest sense, including studies using descriptive and experimental methods under natural and controlled conditions. Current members' research activities span the invertebrates and vertebrates, both in the field and in the laboratory, and include experimental psychology, behavioural ecology, neuroscience, zoology, biology, applied ethology, and human ethology as well as many other specialized areas.
The Animal Behavior Society is responsible for the journal Animal Behaviour, which you can access in full text through ScienceDirect.

Animal Diversity Web
The Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is a database containing information on the natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology of animals. The database consists of two parts: thousands of "species accounts" that provide information about individual species of animals, including text, pictures of living animals, photographs and Quicktime Virtual Reality object movies of specimens, and/or recordings of sounds; and a taxonomic analysis of animal groups above the species level, especially phyla, classes, and in some cases, orders and families. It is enriched by many hundreds of hyperlinked pages and images that explore the traits and general biology of these groups.

Biology Project
The Biology Project is an interactive online resource for learning biology developed at the University of Arizona. Richly illustrated, it has been designed for biology students at the college and high school level.

Biotech Life Science Dictionary
The Life Science Dictionary is a searchable site containing more than 8,300 entries in the fields of biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cell biology, genetics, and more.

Encyclopedia of Life
A not-for-profit internet encyclopedia with entries on species from around the world, created through partnerships with leading museums, universities, libraries and other institutions globally.

HighWire Press
HighWire Press, the online journal production division of the Stanford University Libraries provides free and subscription-based access-technology services to more than 180 high-impact journals and more than 600,000 articles, mostly in the fields of science, technology and medicine. HighWire Press is one of the two largest archives of free full-text science on Earth. As of 6/5/01, this database contained the online version of 259,048 free full-text articles and 996,814 total articles.

ITIS, the Integrated Taxonomic Information System
This database is the source for authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. It is produced by a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists.

Tree of Life
The Tree of Life is a collection of over 1380 World Wide Web pages containing information about the diversity of life. These pages are housed on 20 computers in four countries, and are authored by biologists from around the world. Each page contains information about one group of organisms. The pages are linked one to another in the form of the evolutionary tree of organisms, with the pages branching off from a group's page being about subgroups. For example, the links from the page on frogs leads one to pages on individual families of frogs, and eventually up to some individual species of frogs.

UCMP Taxon Lift
The UCMP Web Lift to Taxa is an index to the exhibits in the Phylogeny Wing of the University of California Museum of Paleontology's web pages. This particularly useful for researching specific organisms. If you are interested in a particular period in Earth's history, try the Geologic Time Machine.

Photo courtesy of Flickr and Creative Commons