Your friendly SLC Librarians:
From off-campus, simply provide your SUeID & password to authenticate yourself and gain access to the library's databases.
TIP: Make sure you're logging into the yellow Southwestern login screen, NOT the database's login screen.
Never pay for articles; the library can get that information for you for from another source. Ask a librarian.
Printed style manuals are located on the shelves of SLC in the Research Commons and in the Main Collection. Call numbers and availability status are in WorldCat@SU.
Visit the Research Hub for current information on citing your work.
Smith Library has 24-hour student building access (with ID card) for most of the week during the normal fall and spring semesters.
Always check the library website for the most current operational hours.
Center for Multilingual, Multicultural Research
Multicultural megasite from the University of Southern California with extensive links and resources.
The Children's Literature Web Guide
Gathers together and categorizes a broad array of Internet resources related to books for children and young adults. The site is well organized, updated regularly and has its own search engine.
Discovery Education - School Resources
Home of the Lesson Plans Library. Includes other useful features for classroom use.
Ed.gov (Department of Education)
A fully searchable, comprehensive site from the U.S. Department of Education. Arranged into major categories such as Research & Statistics and Grants & Contracts. Very useful A to Z Index .
Education Report Card
This site provides reports that assess the educational system of each state in several categories, e.g., academic achievement, academic achievement of low-income and minority students, return on investment, rigor of standards, and postsecondary and workforce readiness.
EduHound: Everything for Education K-12
The site includes links to resources for most subjects taught in the K-12 curriculum and also provides links to community resources (e.g., museums), grants and funding, and professional sites for teachers (e.g., associations, publications, governmental agencies, and curriculum standards). Users can browse by subject categories, by lesson plans, or by "site sets," which are targeted resource collections on specific topics.
FREE: Federal resources for educational excellence
Incredibly content rich site of teaching and learning resources provided by more than 30 federal agencies.
Provides educators with quick and easy access to thousands of educational resources found on various federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial Internet sites.
The Knowledge Loom
Review research, identify best practices, and participate in online events and discussions and discover supporting organizations and resources. A content rich site.
Interactive guide to learning disabilities for parents, teachers and children.
Music Education Online
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The essential place to go for extensive statistics on American education.
The National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities
NICHCY provides information on disabilities and disability-related issues for families, educators, and other professionals. Especially useful here is an extensive list of resources by state.
New York Times on the Web Learning Network
Provides access to lesson plans and news articles appropriate for use in the K-12 classroom.
Includes over 3,000 free lesson plans and activities.
School psychology resources online
Research learning disabilities, ADHD, functional behavioral assessment, autism, adolescence, parenting, psychological assessment, special education, mental retardation, mental health, and more.
SERI: Special education resources on the Internet
A site with very extensive listings created to make on-line Special Education resources easily and readily available in one location.
Central education website of the Smithsonian Institution with lesson plans and other resources for educators.
Teachers Network is a nationwide, educational non-profit organization. The website offers lesson plans and other helpful resources. One section is devoted to information specifically For New Teachers.
Search these databases for peer reviewed articles and more.