Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Spanish Research Seminar

Library resources for Professor De Oro's Spanish Research Seminar

Library information and research help

If you need assistance finding resources for your Capstone research, you can Request a Research Appointment and one of the professional research librarians will contact you to schedule an appointment, or email me directly at fonkenc@southwestern.edu.

  • Simply provide your SUeID and password when prompted to authenticate yourself on the server and gain access to the library's paid subscription databases. 
  • TIP: Make sure you're logging into the Southwestern login screen, NOT the database's login screen.

Need help writing your paper?

Extended borrowing privileges

Items you check out from Smith Library Center for your capstone can be borrowed for the entire semester. Be sure to alert the InfoDesk assistant when checking out an item for your capstone, and we will extend the due date. Get It! interlibrary loan items are subject to the due date set by the lending library and are not eligible for extended borrowing privileges.

Get It!: Interlibrary loan and acquisitions

If you find a book, article, or other item that isn't in our collection, you can request it through Get It!. Our library will either borrow the item from another library on your behalf, or we will purchase it for the collection. Look for this button in WorldCat or databases to make a request via Get It!:   

UT Libraries / TexShare Card

To borrow books directly from UT:

  • Get a TexShare card from the InfoDesk
  • Take the TexShare card and your SU ID to the Courtesy Borrower Desk at the Perry-Castañeda Library (PCL) to obtain a free UT borrower card.

In addition to borrowing books, you can search UT's databases while you are at PCL, but are limited to one 60-minute session per day. You will not be able to access UT's databases from outside the library. 

Benson Latin American Collection at UT

The Benson Latin American Collection at UT Austin:

  • one of the premier libraries in the world focused on Latin America and Latin@ Studies
  • excels in humanities and social sciences disciplines, in addition to an array of scientific and professional literature published in Latin America
  • holdings include nearly a million books, magazines, newspapers, journals and other materials

MLA Citation Style

Complete your research by correctly citing all your sources. MLA is the style and citation guide to use for this class. 

OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab: MLA General Format, for the basics of MLA style. Includes a citation generator. For the most complete and authoritative information use the Handbook, available in the Research Commons and on Reserve.