Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AES Masking, Festivals, Cultural Tribalism, and Identity: Start Here

Start exploring here

Credo is an academic alternative to Wikipedia. It includes topic pages with mind maps (example: Mask) and specialized entries from several encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources (examples: Noh from The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Stage Actors and Acting and Carnival and Sexuality in Brazil in Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History. As a reference source, it's a good place to start and to help formulate your topic.

Where to Find Scholarly Sources

The databases featured in this box are particularly useful for this class. You can learn more about databases on the Research Hub's Databases tab.

Find all our databases at Databases A-Z.

Citing your work

Return to FYS / AES Research Hub

           

TIP: Clicking this icon will take you back to the Research Hub.

Books & eBooks at Smith Library Center

Searching for Information

Think about keywords related to your topic in general, or a specific style/aspect/culture, to start your search in the library's catalog, WorldCat@SUWhen you find a good item, try the subject links to lead to more resources on the topic. Also browse the shelf nearby for related titles. Ask your librarian for advanced search tips!

Try some of these subject headings in WorldCat:

Masquerades | Carnival Caribbean area | Festivals Masks Symbolic aspects | Mask making | Masks social aspects | Identity (psychology) | Disguise  | Masks Psychological aspects | Masks religious aspects | No masks | Masks, African | Carnival