Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Journal Articles and Working Papers
contains the full-text of many of the classic political
science journals back to their earliest issues.
Note: there is a gap of typically 1-5 years between the
most recently published journal issue and the
content available in JSTOR
- a comprehensive source for theory and research
in international affairs publishes materials from 1991 onward.
The search allows for the use of Boolean operators, but these must
be in all caps: AND, OR, and NOT.
Note: Can search EBSCO family of databases concurrently. Select "Choose Databases" across the top of the landing page.
WorldCat searches through the library catalog, most of the library’s article databases, and a very long list of books and other materials, including open-access scholarly collections from around the world. It includes items that we do not have at the library but that we can get through interlibrary loan -- GET IT! There are checkboxes on the results screen with a variety of options to narrow your results.
How to Find Current Newspapers
New York Times
New York Times Online
Use this link if you have already set up or renewed your Southwestern account/pass with NYT.
Search Feature: NYTs (INTERNATIONAL EDITION) provides searchable access to articles, videos, blogs, features, interviews, obituaries, and columns. The service features a single search box with result-filtering that includes date range, result type (article vs. blog), section, author, and the ability to search for images only.
Interlibrary Loan Service -- GET IT!
When you are doing research you may find a book, score, DVD, CD, or article you need that isn't in our collection. If this happens, you can request it through Get It!.
Country Profiles and Statistics
Under " Publication Type," please select COUNTRY REPORT. Provides political and economic overview of the Country. Example: El Salvador, Cuba,
Opinion Polls and Surveys
An African-led series of national public attitude surveys on democracy and governance in Africa.
Global Attitudes & Trends
Pew Research Center conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects worldwide.
Russian Public Opinion Research Center
Conducts research - from instrument design and data collection to analysis and presentation of results in the fields politics, business and social affairs.
Locating Journal Articles
If you have an article citation and want to find that specific article, you can find it several ways.
- Worldcat@SU --- Search for the article title. It is often useful to put quotes around the article title to find the exact title you want.
- Google Scholar -- Use the article title. Again, it is often useful to put quotes around the article title to find the exact title you want. If you find articles that are not freely available, search the Worldcat@SU to see if we have the article or the Online Periodical, Journal, & Newspaper Links on the library's homepage.