Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Handbook of Texas
Call Number: 976.4003 H191, Main collection
For more than forty years the Handbook of Texas was the most comprehensive and authoritative source on Texas history. Now, the New Handbook of Texas -- a stunning six-volume encyclopedia and biographical dictionary covering every aspect of Texas history -- continues that proud tradition. Thirteen years in preparation, the new edition presents the efforts of more than 3,000 authors, editors, and reviewers. You'll find 23,500 articles covering the history of Texas from A to Z. There are detailed histories of all 254 counties and of major cities. Thousands of other entries highlight communities, key events, geographical features, historical sites, institutions, and organizations. The New Handbook tells the story of the people who made Texas history -- the men and women who shaped the Lone Star State. More than 7,000 biographical entries provide authoritative information about the famous and the infamous, the legendary and the overlooked. Other essays describe the many groups of people who have lived in Texas, from prehistoric cultures to twentieth-century immigrants. Particular attention has been given to the rich historical traditions of the African American and Mexican American communities in Texas and to the vital historical contributions made by individual women and women's organizations throughout the state. The Handbook of Texas Online is a joint venture sponsored by the College of Liberal Arts and the General Libraries at the University of Texas at Austin, in collaboration with the TSHA. It offers fully searchable electronic access to the text of the New Handbook as well as approximately 400 articles not included in the print edition due to space limitations.
WorldCat is a service that will allow you to search multiple resources in one place. It includes our collection at Smith Library Center along with many of our article databases. It can also search other libraries throughout the world at the same time. You have the option of obtaining items from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan, GET IT!
You can access this resource by using the WorldCat search box on the Smith Library web page.
BIBLIOGRAPHY OF TEXAS, 1795-1845. (Republic of Texas) by
Call Number: 016.9764 St83b 1983 , Special Collections
Streeter assembled the largest private Texana collection ever compiled. From these and other materials that had been printed not only in Texas, but in Mexico, the United States, and Europe, he compiled and published the authoritative three-part (five-volume) work Bibliography of Texas, 1795–1845, the first part being Texas Imprints (2 vols., 1955), the second part, Mexican Imprints Relating to Texas (1 vol., 1956), and the third part, United States and European Imprints Relating to Texas (2 vols., 1960). Each part has index, author and title guide.
Southwestern Historical Quarterly (Journal) 1912-
The Quarterly has published articles dealing with Texas history, and the journal has been a major source for most of the textbook accounts of Texas and Southwest history
Western Historical Quarterly, 1969-
The Western Historical Quarterly, official journal of the Western History Association, presents original articles dealing with the North American West—expansion and colonization, indigenous histories, regional studies (including western Canada, northern Mexico, Alaska, and Hawaii), and transnational, comparative, and borderland histories.
Basic Texas books : an annotated bibliography of selected works for a research library by
Call Number: 976.4003 H191, Research Commons
Anyone interested in Texas history will find Jenkins's bibliography indispensable. After fourteen years of research into the more than 100,000 books published on Texas since Cabeza de Vaca's Relacin of 1542, Jenkins, formerly an Austin rare book dealer, author, and bibliophile, selected 224 books that he considered essential for any Texas library. The entry on each book provides a substantial critical essay and full bibliographical details on every printing and issue. An additional 1,017 books are discussed and appraised, and an annotated guide to 217 Texas bibliographies is included.
Headings to Use in Worldcat
Bibliography, Texas (J.Frank Doby)
Guide to life and literature of the southwest
Call Number: ebook
This is selected , annotated bibliography of the life and literature of the southwest. Broken down by:
Indian Culture; Pueblos and Navajos5. Apaches, Comanches, and Other Plains Indians SpanishMexican Strains. Flavor of France Backwoods Life and Humor How the Early Settlers Lived Fighting Texians Texas Rangers. Women Pioneers Circuit Riders and Missionaries Lawyers, Politicians, J.P.'s. Pioneer Doctors Mountain Men Santa the Santa Fe Trail1 Stagecoaches, Freighting Pony Express Surge of Life in the West Range Life: Cowboys, Cattle, Sheep Cowboy Songs and Other Ballads Horses: Mustangs and Cow Ponies The Bad Man Tradition. Mining and Oil. Nature; Wild Life; Naturalists Buffaloes and Buffalo Hunters Bears and Bear Hunters Coyotes, Lobos, and Negro Folk Songs and Tales Fiction Including Folk Tales
Texana Collection, Smith Library Center, 2nd floor of floor
Edward A. Clark Texana Collection
It is rich in basic, printed materials for the period of the Republic of Texas (1836-1845), the annexation by the United States (1845) and Reconstruction (1865). Also included in this collection are a number of periodicals, photographs and other printed materials. Since Clark’s original gift, the collection has grown to more than 10,000 items, including more than 7,000 books.