Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Art History Subject Guide: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

Special Collections has a number of resources related to the study of art and art history. Some of the most important resources are highlighted below, but we invite you to visit Special Collections to see how we can help support your research in this area. -- Jason Dean

Hogarth, Gin Lane     Gentling, Of Birds and Texas     Prang, Oriental Ceramic Art

Meet Jason W. Dean, Director of Special Collections with Dr. Robertson

Students, faculty and researchers are increasingly interested in the special collections of university libraries brought about in part by the enhanced discovery access and use of rare materials made possible through digitization. Jason's deep understanding of the relationships among special collections, archives, technologies and scholarship  has already increased the visibility and use of Southwestern's treasures.

His undergraduate degree in history is from Hardin-Simmons University, and his MS LIS is from Syracuse University. Jason has also completed coursework at Rare Book School at the University of Virginia.

Prior to coming to Southwestern, Jason was Head of the Special Formats Cataloging Unit at the University of Arkansas, and was previously the Cataloger and Technical Services Librarian at Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art in Bentonville, Arkansas, where he started their library.

Jason is a member of the Grolier Club, and a past IMLS-RBS fellow. He is active in several professional organizations related to history, rare books, and archives.