Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Try this resource to get background information
To find articles (Iranian Revolution) , go to Credo Reference and search for topics your professor has suggested. You will get a long list of entries in reference books; notice the title of the encyclopedia each article is published in, as well as the bibliography provided at the end of each article. You can also continue your research to library resource Worldcat.
Think of this source as an academic substitute for Wikipedia.
Visit the Credo Topic Pages featuring additional content around this particular subject area AND click here to view the CREDO tutorials.
Try these resources to read articles
The Smith Library Center subscribes to various discipline-specific databases that, when searched, will yield many articles and essays on the broad subject of the Islamic World.
Tip: When you view a full record for an article, read the abstract, or summary, to quickly ascertain if it is relevant to your research.
Databases A-Z (Smith Library Center)
Suggested Reference Works In the Library
Meet Your Librarians | Joan Parks, email@example.com
Use WorldCat to search by keyword and subject
WorldCat is the library's online catalog. Use it to identify printed and electronic books that we own as well as videos, CD's, DVD's, and more. If you find an item that we don't own that you need for your research, use Get it! and we will get the item from a library that does own it.
Searching any database requires an understanding of how subject headings are used to describe and organize the items listed. Entering a subject phrase that is not used in a particular database will keep you from finding what you need even if the item is there. A few scattered examples of select subject headings relevant to this class are below. Always ask a librarian for help if you are not finding what you need--it may simply be a matter of using the right vocabulary.
Using a variety of different subjects, you will be able to research the following:
Keywords are the significant words or concepts that express an idea or topic. Try these keywords when searching for information about your topic. For a quick start use WorldCat.
- (Prophet) Muhammad
- Pillars of Islam
- Shiite or Shia
Try quality and reputable websites to support your argument.
While the library provides many reliable resources for finding information on topics discussed in this course, there are several websites your professors and librarians have determined are reliable and informative.
Virtual Religion Index
The Virtual Religion Index analyzes and highlights important content of religion-related websites. Hyperlinks are provided not only to homepages but to major directories & documents within. Many religion-related web pages offer lists of links to sites of related interest. Some are extensive & a few annotated. Note: no longer being updated, some bad links...
Basic facts about Islam are known only to the few. The objective of this site is to provide beneficial & authentic knowledge regarding Islam, its creed, and methodology vis a vis the entire codes of life.-- website
Arabic and English commentaries on the Qur’an from a wide variety of viewpoints. It is the first website to cover all seven schools if Islamic law.
Determining "good" information from "bad" can get tricky sometimes. One way to decide what's what is to ask a librarian for help, or you can use SIFT, a set of 4 'moves'.
Suggested books from WorldCat
You can search WorldCat to find more books that are available at the Smith Library and books beyond our library.
Primary Sources : Library Databases
Primary sources may include diaries, letters, interviews, oral histories, photographs, newspaper articles, government documents, poems, novels, plays, and music.
- The New York Times Online -- Full text of articles and page images of the New York Times from 1851 to the present.
- Gale: Opposing Viewpoints -- Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a resource that brings together academic articles, audio, videos, opinion essays and primary sources about contemporary controversies and hot topics. Whether you need a balanced view or support for your position, Opposing Viewpoints is the first place to go when you're researching a controversial or contentious issue.
- Nexis Uni -- Provides access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
Newspaper Source Plus -- Provides access to both national and international newspapers, and contains abstracts and indexing from the following papers): The New York Times Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and USA Today.
Some help in identifying primary and secondary sources?
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, global attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. -- website
Return to FYS / AES Research Hub
TIP: Clicking the SU Bike icon will take you to the Research Hub.