Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Credo E-Reference is a full text online reference collection of more than 800 titles from over 60 publishers. It features entries from atlases, dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides, and other reference books on a wide range of subjects.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. -- website
Selected Reference Titles
Encyclopedia of India by
Call Number: 954 En19
Home to a fifth of the world's population and the largest democracy in the world, India holds a prominent place in current events yet remains unknown or misunderstood by many people who seek a single, authoritative source for information on this political and economic dynamo.
South America, Central America and the Caribbean by
Call Number: 980 So87 2001
An source of reference for this immense region. Introductory surveys examine topics or regional importance. It features over 900 pages of in-depth analysis, up-to-date statistics, directory details, and includes contributions from acknowledged authorities on Latin American affairs.
Call Number: 960.03 Af831 1999
A guide to the history and current state of Africa and African American heritage includes entries on topics ranging from affirmative action to zydeco.
Japanese Politics by
Call Number: 320.952 R765
The Routledge Handbook of Japanese Politics is an advanced level reference guide which surveys the current state of Japanese Politics, featuring both traditional topics and cutting edge research. Offering a complete overview of the full spectrum of Japanese politics, the Handbook is an invaluable resource for academics, researchers, policy analysts, graduate and undergraduate students studying this ever-evolving field.
With a subject like comparative politics, it is important to find resources on exactly what you are researching. To find printed reference material relevant to your topic, start with Worldcat@SU online catalog.
To find reference materials, search using keywords to describe your topic along with types of reference works (i.e. "politics handbook" or "economic encyclopedia"). You can also check the library's Web pages for subject guides for specific topics to find other suggested sources.
Below are a few titles to get you started. To check call number and location information, search the Worldcat@SU online catalog.
Image courtesy of World Politics and Economics
The World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures by
Call Number: 328 W893
A collection of over 200 articles describing legislative bodies around the world. For each country, the legislative body is discussed in terms of constitutional approach as well as practice. Key characteristics such as historical background, elections, lawmaking and budgetary control are covered.