Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start Here: Political Handbook of the World...
THE FAR EAST AND AUSTRALASIA, 2015
This comprehensive survey of the countries of East and South-East Asia, Australia and New Zealand, along with 22 Pacific islands, fully revised to reflect current economic and political developments, is an essential resource for the Asia-Pacific region.
General Country Information Sources
To obtain current current political party outlook, type in country (ex. Germany) , then in uppercase type the connector AND , then political party overview in top search box. Hit return key for search results.
- Germany AND political party overview
- Vietnam AND political party overview
- Spain AND political party overview
- Business Monitor International (for International Company Information)
- Country Briefings (economic briefings on politics, stock markets, etc. for 32 countries)
- PRS Risk Guides and Service (international business risk analysis)
- Walden Country Reports (basic country information, updated yearly)
- Recent News Stories (news about the country selected)
BBC News Country Profiles
BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) News' profiles provide an "instant guide" to news, history, politics, event timelines, and economic background of world countries. Presents country overviews, basic facts, Web links, and details on leaders and media. Also includes news stories and audio video clips from BBC Archive.
Country Studies: Library of Congress
Prepared by the Federal Research Division and made available via the Library of Congress Website, "The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world." (from Website) NOTE: Many countries are not covered.
Countries & Regions
Provides background information and reports on all countries of the world. Browse by category: Africa, East Asia & the Pacific, South Asia, Europe and Central Asia, Latin America & The Caribbean, Middle East & North Africa.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. The 2010 WDI includes more than 800 indicators in over 90 tables organized in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States & Markets, and Global Links. Data can be exported into spreadsheets.
- Type a country name in the search box, then choose "Title" from the drop-down box
- Scroll down the page, choose "Country Report" from the Publication Type drop-down menu
- Press the "Search" button
Search results will include country reports from various vendors including: The European Union, Political Risk Yearbook, and Country Monitor.
Eldis Regional and Country Profiles
Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers.
A central data source and way to graphically compare nations, generate maps and graphs with statistics.
Enter a country name for news, background information and Web links. Includes recent news stories for each country published from the Washington Post.
ipl2: Regional and Country Information
ipl2: Information You Can Trust features a searchable, subject-categorized directory of authoritative websites, links to online texts, and newspapers. Browse by category: Africa, Asia, Australia, Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, Middle East, North America, South America, South Pacific.
Historical Guides to Countries
Maintained by the U.S. Department of State, Office of the Historian, each guide "provides historical reference information on aspects of the United States’ relations with the countries of the world. The central component is a guide to matters of diplomatic recognition and the establishment and maintenance of diplomatic relations between the United States and states of the world, from 1776 to the present." (Website)
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Factual publications produced by the U.S. Department of State that contain information on all countries of the world with which the United States has relations. They include facts on the country's land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and its relations with other countries and the United States.
EUROPA-- Official Site of the European Union
Learn how the EU works. Find official documents, studies, and resources for teachers. Search Eurostat for statistics, Eurobarometer for public opinion surveys and newsroom databses for press releases.
Politics of the World
Image courtesy of World Politics