Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYS Alternative Medicine: Healing Cultures and the Modern World: Start Here

Library resources in support of Dr Hernandez Berrones's 2022 FYS course

Selected Books from the Smith Library Center

Start exploring here

Credo is an academic alternative to Wikipedia. It holds over 400 encyclopedias, handbooks, and specialty dictionaries.

Check out Credo's topic page for 'traditional medicine'.

Return to FYS / AES Research Hub

           

TIP: Clicking this icon will take you back to the Research Hub.

clue

Searching for Articles in the Library Catalog and in Databases A-Z

WorldCat@SU is the library's online catalog. Use it to identify printed and electronic books that we own as well as videos, CD's, DVD's, and more. If you find an item that we don't own that you need for your research, use Get it! and we will get the item from a library that does own it. 

A few examples of select subject headings relevant to this class are below.

Many of the subject headings listed below may also work in library databases as keyword searches. Every database develops its own list of subjects to use. 

Ask a librarian for help if you are not finding what you need--it may simply be a matter of using the right vocabulary.

General Multidisciplinary Medical Anthropology Anthropology/Sociology Health/Global Health Religion Hispanic Studies Feminist Studies

Academic Search Complete

Credo Reference

JSTOR

University of Chicago Journals

Films on Demand

Academic Search Complete

Medline Database  via EBSCO 

MEDLINE via PubMed

PsycINFO 

Consumer Health Complete

 

Academic Search Complete

SocioIndex with Full Text

JSTOR

EthnicNews Watch

eBook (digital books) collection

HRAF (Human Relations Area File) World Cultures

Academic Search Complete

Alt  (Alternative) Health Watch

Consumer Health Complete

GaleOnefile: Health & Medicine

Academic Search Complete

Religion and Philosophy Collection

JSTOR

 

 

 Hapi Index

Fuente Academic Premier

JSTOR

 

Academic Search Complete

GenderWatch

Women's Studies International

JSTOR

Note: WorldCat@SU only finds a fraction of the articles available through our databases. Databases allow you to search specifically for articles. Not only do databases find more articles, they provide more precise search tools than WorldCat, yielding better results.

Here are a few sites related to your FYS topic for you to explore.   Tip:  The ending of the URL address may help you identify the sponsor.  I have selected  commercial sites (.com)some non-profit organizations (.org), and some government departments/agencies (.gov).

 

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Amy Anderson
Contact:
Phone: 512-863-1639

Email: andersoa@southwestern.edu

Available for online assistance from 9:00 am. to 6 pm., Monday through Friday.