Skip to main content

Modern Architecture

ArtStor Digital Library

ArtStor image database contains over 2 million images of artworks and cultural objects, many contributed by museums and archives. Users can search and download images, create and share groups, generate Powerpoint presentations, and utilize content for any scholarly purpose.

 

Note that you MUST register for an account from an on-campus computer/device. Then you can log in from anywhere. It only takes a moment to register, so take care of it early. 

The ArtStor YouTube channel has instructional videos on registering, searching, downloading, and organizing images. Watch this lengthy video, or skip around to relevant parts:

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online is a database of art history reference sources, including Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion of Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and more. You can search for articles and text, but it also has a great image database

To search for images, look for the "Search for images only" box in the middle of the homepage:

Other Art Image Sites

WorldImages
A database of more than 50,000 images, including artwork, from the California State University IMAGE project.

Collection: World Architecture: 20th-21st Centuries

Google Advanced Image Search
Try these advanced tips and tricks.

You can constrain your results to specified sizes, color schemes, and more. Be mindful of the pixel size, quality, and format of the image as well as source and copyright. Please see librarian Katherine Hooker with any image questions!

 

Google Sketchup

Streaming Video Databases