Skip to main content

(New) Research Guide: Race & Ethnicity Studies

Ethnic

Race and Ethnic Research

There are numerous types of background materials: encyclopedias (both general and subject specific), handbooks, and dictionaries. Why use a background source? It can save you time by helping you with the following.

 

  • Get an overview of a new or complex topic
  • Find out the names of key players in a given area
  • Locate terms that you can use in your research
  • Help narrow (or expand) your topic
  • Locate a bibliography of sources to help you start your research.

 

Scholarly vs. Popular

 

To find scholarly articles in a library database:

  • Go to the SU Library Homepage
  • Click on Research from the menu
  • Click on Databases and Articles when you need to research a topic
  • Select a database by title, subject or material type
  • If you are off-campus, you will need to enter your SU campus username and password
  • If there is an option, select Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly Journal or Academic Journal
  • Type your keywords\key concepts in the search box 
  • In the results list, look for PDF or full text links to the article title
  • Click on the link to access the full article

There are many periodicals that have articles relevant to race and ethnic studies current research. Below are some highly regarded in this field.  These links will take you to WorldCat where you can keyword search for articles within a single journal.  

 

Journals on Ethnic Studies, Immigration and Race

  • Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Minority Psychology
  • Ethnicity and Health
  • Ethnic and Race Studies
  • International Migration
  • International Migration Review
  • Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies
  • Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health
  • Journal of Transnational American Studies

African American Studies Journals

  • Harvard Journal of African American Public Policy
  • Journal of African American History
  • Journal of African Studies
  • Journal of Black Studies
  • Western Journal of Black Studies
  • Black Music Research Journal
  • Callaloo (Literature of the African Diaspora)
  • Journal of Negro Education

Asian American Studies Journals

  • Asian America Policy Review
  • Hmong Studies Journal
  • Journal of Asian American Studies
  • Sojourn: Journal of Social Issues in Southeast Asia

Jewish Studies Journals

  • American Jewish History
  • Holocaust & Genocide Studies
  • Journal of Jewish Studies
  • Studies in American Jewish Literature
  • Shofar: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Jewish Studies
  • Women in Judaism : A Multidisciplinary Journal (online)

Latin Studies Journals

  • Aztlan: A Journal of Chicano Studies
  • Hispania
  • Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences
  • Journal of Hispanic Higher Education
  • Latino Studies
  • Portuguese Studies

Middle East Studies

  • Arab Studies Quarterly
  • Israel Studies
  • The Middle East Journal
  • Middle East Quarterly
  • Journal of Middle East Women's Studies

Native American Studies Journals

  • American Indian Culture and Research Journal
  • American Indian Quarterly
  • Ethnohistory
  • Journal of American Education Education
  • Studies in American Indian Literatures
  • Wicazo Sa Review

 

Original Research Articles

Research articles, empirical, research primary research, are based on original research. If you need to limit your sources to research articles, you must be able to tell the difference. Most research articles will contain the following:

Abstract

A summary of the article. (Note: Abstracts appear in reviews or secondary articles as well.)

Methods

Sometimes called "methodology" or "materials and methods," this section describes the author's research methods and tools: experiment, survey, data sources, etc.

Results 

Also called "findings," this is the section of the article in which raw data are presented.

Discussion 

Sometimes called "analysis," this is the section in which the author analyzes the data.

Conclusion

The author's conclusions based on the analysis.

References

List of references to works cited in the article.

These standard parts of a research article may not always be labeled, and sometimes they are combined (for example, "Data and Methods"). Still, every research article indicates what methods and tools were used to conduct the research, what the results were, and how the author interprets those results.

Other Types of Articles

Not every article in a scholarly journal contains research or analysis. Scholarly journals may also include:

  • Literature reviews - often reviews original research
  • Book reviews
  • Meta-Analysis or systematic reviews - analysis of original research 
  • Editorials or commentaries
  • Letters
  • Speeches and interviews
  • Conference reports

These are not original or primary research articles.