Skip to main content

Victorian Era (1837-1901) : Meridian School Research Guide: Articles (Databases)

Indexes and Databases

The indexes and databases you might use to identify periodical articles are listed alphabetically on our Databases A-Z page and by subject on our Databases by Subject page.

Some databases serve as subject-author-title indexes only and those will give you citations to articles that you can look for in the library or online; some databases include links directly to the articles (the "full text") in PDF or HTML formats.

 

                     Databases with article coverage of Victorian topics

Databases

Int'l, U.S.
News &
Newspapers
Popular
Magazines
Scholarly
Articles
Literary 
Criticism
Biographical/ Historical

Academic Search 
Complete (EBSCO)
 
Includes Journal of Victorian Culture

   
JSTOR        

Project Muse

       
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)        
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)      
Gale Literary Databases (EBSCO)      
Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)      
Women's Studies International (EBSCO)        
Literature Resource Center (EBSCO)        
Salem History         

 

The best Library databases for Literature research are EBSCO Literary Reference Center, Literature Resource Center and Gale Literary Databases. In each of these databases you will find literary criticism.

For Victorian Period literature, primary titles in various disciplines.  Victorian Literature and Culture 1997-2004 Victorian Periodicals Newsletter 1968-1978 Victorian Periodicals Review 1979-2004 Victorian Poetry 1963-2004 (JSTOR).

 

Where is the full text?

Once you have found a citation for a useful article in an index or database, where can you view the full text of the article?

Check to see if the full-text is available in the database you are using (PDF or html).

Check the link to Online Periodicals on the library's home page. Type in the title of the journal you want, to find out if the full-text is available in other databases.

Check WorldCat Local to see if we have the journal in print or on microfilm.

If you can't find the article in any of these sources, you can request a copy through Get It!