Skip to main content

Introduction to Research Methods in Psychology -- Resources @ SLC: Home

Introduction to Research Methods in Psychology

This InfoGuide will help you in understanding how to search for psychology materials and how to find help if you need it at any time. Using PsycINFO Database, the primary database in psychology, you will be able to research any psychology topic.  
 
If you are struggling to find a psychology topic click here to find suggestions, available through the American Psychological Association homepage.  And try Credo,  a resource that includes academic encyclopedias with content specifically related to psychology.
 
Assignment:
Using a topic search, find at least 5 articles relevant to your topic of interest. Two of these five articles need to have full text options in order to complete the rest of the assignment. Write the references for those articles in APA style (remember to include the doi if applicable; 2.5 points).  Also, write down the different words that you used as search terms.

 

‚Äč       

 

 

 

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Inside_my_head_cropped.jpg#mediaviewer/File:Inside_my_head_cropped.jpg

Library Information and Research Help

Have a question? Ask a LibrarianThis online FAQ may just have the answer you’re looking for! If not, submit your question and it will be answered by email as quickly as possible Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Outside of regular department hours, questions will be answered within 24 hours or less.

Need more in-depth and personalized assistance? Librarians are available to help you find the articles, resources, and answers you need to get started on that paper or project! We can also help you look for obscure topics or locate books/articles not held in Smith Library's collections. Schedule a Research Appointment!

When is the library open? You can search online at any time! During the school year, you can visit the library 7 days a week. Check the hours first before you visit because they do change.

How do I find items in the library? The library uses the Dewey Decimal System to assign a unique call number to every physical item in the building. The library's collection spans all three floors of the building and is arranged by call number. For assistance finding items in other locations, just ask at the library's InfoDesk on the first floor at the Research Commons. 

  • 000-199 First Floor
  • 200-759.3 Second Floor
  • 759.4-999 Third Floor

Accessing SU resources off-campusThis requires you to provide your SU ID and password to authenticate yourself on the server and gain access to the library's paid subscription databases. 

Need help writing your paper or citations? In the Cullen Building, you will find help at the Debby Ellis Writing Center
Any student can visit the DEWC for help with papers from a peer writing consultant at any stage of the writing process. 

Student Resources for Writing

Of course, the best resource you have for questions about your writing is your professor.  And we would always love to see you in the DEWC. Sometimes, however, you need an answer quickly.  We hope the following links will be helpful as you work on crafting your paper.  If you have an idea for a page that would be useful, we hope you’ll let us know!

Please click through for links to information on:

Loading