Skip to main content

From Marginalized Experience to Transformative Political Force: The Case of Latinas/os in Contemporary United States: Articles

Library and Research Guide for Omar Rivera's Advanced Entry Seminar (AES)

How to Find Articles in Magazines, Journals & Newspapers

First, choose a database* from the library's home page.  The library subscribes to over 100 on line databases--some general and some very subject specific.  While some databases provide full-text articles, others offer only an abstract or a citation.  A citation gives you the information that you need to look up the article: author, title, name of journal, publication date, volume and issue.  An abstract is a short summary of the article in addition to the citation.

* What is a database??  It is a searchable list of thousands of journal and magazine articles - sometimes with links to the full-text of the article.

View all of the library's databases at Databases A - Z or Databases by Subject.   You can also determine if the library has access to a particular magazine or journal full-text on line by checking Full-Text Journal Links.

Databases that will be especially useful for this FYS class are:
 

  • Project MUSE:  Provides full image journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, in particular the areas of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
  • LexisNexis: Find current news items from newspapers worldwide.  Provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. The vast majority of the titles on LexisNexis Academic are available in full text. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-K’s, 10-Q’s, and their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Research areas in LexisNexis Academic cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts



Second, if the article is NOT available full-text, you can find location and other information about journals in the library's On line Catalog.  The journal may be available in print or microfilm.  If the library does not own a journal, you can request it via Get it!--but remember that it may take up to 10 days to arrive.

Latinas/os Journals