Skip to main content

Germany and Japan: Losers of World War II: Articles

This guide will help you locate library resources for Dr. Gaunder's research paper for Germany and Japan: Losers of World War II.

Worldcat Local

The A. Frank Smith Library is offering a discovery layer called WorldCat.  WorldCat pulls together a large number of subscription databases (including SU's Library Catalog) into a unified search engine, increasing one's chances of finding results by keyword or phrase.  Whenever possible, links are provided directly to the online source identified.

Once you do a search, note how WorldCat offers a large number of (limiters)  on the left side to refine your search by format (book/article), author, year, language etc.  To the right side of the record, you can focus by subject headings.

Hint:  Start with a keyword search that expresses the main concepts in your research question.

Where to Find Scholarly Sources

Because these are topics that cross multiple disciplines or explore problems from multiple disciplinary perspectives, I have listed databases in the the social sciences, environmental sciences, feminist studies and more.  Though academic journal articles covering these issues can be found in resources  from virtually all subject areas,  the databases (general and specialized) below are some of the best places to start for your topic(s). The Smith Library Center subscribes to various databases that, when searched, will yield many articles and essays on these broad topics.  Articles are constantly added to these databases.  A keyword search will yield many academic articles.

Tip: When you view a full record for an article, read the abstract, or summary, to quickly ascertain if it is relevant to your research. 

Loading

Generating Keywords

When generating keywords for your search it is best to begin with general terms and then modify your keywords depending on results. Take a look at your topic and try to tease out concepts when creating keywords. For instance, if your topic is "Medical practices in Berlin following World War I" you might start with keywords like "Berlin healthcare" and "Weimar Republic".

Once you have found at least one relevant result, click on the title. Take a look at the information provided by the database (this information is called the database record). Try to find the subject terms associated with each article. These terms are tags that are assigned by the database in order to make it easier to find results over the same topic.

Look at the subject terms carefully and consider trying another search with those terms. Subject terms will vary depending on who runs the database, but examining the database record is a transferable skill and an important step in finding information

Where to find Newspapers Articles

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Be aware, you may THINK you know all about Google Scholar, but there are probably some aspects that will surprise you. Always wear your Critical Thinking Hat when using Google to find information.

Since this is a presentation and NOT a video, you will need to click the RIGHT ARROW on the presentation to view the next slide. For any videos within the presentation, you will need to click on the video for it to play.

Loading

Scholarly vs. Popular?

Many of our databases, including Academic Search Complete, allow you to refine your search to limit results to scholarly (also called peer-reviewed or refereed) articles. Some others, for example JSTOR and Project MUSE, contain only scholarly material.

Depending on the nature of your research, both scholarly journals and popular magazines can be valuable sources.

If you are unable to find enough information to determine if a journal is scholarly, ask a librarian for help.

Click on Advanced Search. Scroll down to see your options and select peer-reviewed.

After searching for your topic in WorldCat Local, you will want to select peer-reviewed:

Loading