Skip to main content

Latin American/Border Studies: Subject Guide: Journals & articles

Resources for your Latin American /Border Studies research in the Smith Library Center and on the Web

Where's the full text?

Once you have found a citation for a useful article in an index or database, where can you view the full text of the article?

  • Check to see if the full-text is available in the database you are using.
  • Check the link to Online Periodicals on the library's home page. Type in the title of the journal you want, to find out if the full-text is available in other databases.
  • Check WorldCat Local to see if we have the journal in print or on microfilm.
  • If you can't find the article in any of these sources, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Databases for locating articles in English

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Latin American Studies, databases in many different subject areas will be useful. You can find lists of the library's databases at Databases A-Z. Depending on your topic, some of the following databases may be helpful:

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Full text or indexing for scholarly journals, with many dating back to 1984. Full-page images, as well as color embedded images are included. Add additional databases to your search using the EBSCOhost gateway.

Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. In-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. Add additional databases to your search using the EBSCOhost gateway.

Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform. You can search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists for others to view. There is a Women's Studies category within the Sociology section.

JSTOR: Journal Storage Collection Online
An electronic archive of scholarly journals from the humanities, social sciences, and the natural sciences. Each of the 624 titles is an essential or primary one for its field. The JSTOR database is unique because the complete backfiles of core scholarly journals (excluding the most recent five years) have been digitized, starting with the first issues, many of which date back to the 1800s. Users can browse the complete table of contents for every volume and issue, or search for words or phrases in the full text of the article, author and abstracts. JSTOR displays articles in page-image format.

Project MUSE
Provides full image journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, in particular the areas of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

SocINDEX
The primary database for research in sociology.  Contains full text for 344 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers. Add additional databases to your search using the EBSCOhost gateway.

WDI Online: World Development Indicators
A data source on the global economy, containing statistical data for over 550 development indicators, and time series data from 1960-2002 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Included are social, economic, financial, natural resource, and environmental indicators. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data can be exported in standard formats like Excel.