Skip to main content

Theatre: Subject Guide: Play Reviews

Resources for your Theatre research in the Smith Library Center and on the Web.

Sources for Theatre Reviews

Academic Search Complete (1975+)
This is a multisubject index providing access play reviews, some of which are full text.

International Index to the Performing Arts (1864+)
Type in the name of the play (Hairspray ) and limit your search to theater reviews as a DOCUMENT TYPE.

LexisNexis Academic (Current)
For reviews before 1920, use the New York Times Index; for reviews after 1970 use LexisNexis Academic. Selection of national and international newspapers and magazines with reviews of books, movies, plays, etc.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (Print)
The printed version provides access to reviews in general interests and popular magazines, beginning 1900s-2008.

New York Theatre Critics' Reviews (1961-1994)
Reprints of reviews from a varity of publications. Changed to National Theatre Critics' Reviews, beginning 1986-1996. The publication ceased with Volume 57 (1996). Check the library's online catalog for journal title information.

Theatre World (1951 to the present)
Main Collection 792.09 74 T34
Authoritative and pictorial record of the Broadway, Off-Broadway seasons and touring companies. Published annually.

New York Times Theatre Reviews Website
Find theater news, reviews & showtimes for Broadway, Off Broadway, Off Broadway & London

New York Times Theater Reviews
Reference Collection 792.95 N42

Bound volumes that reprint the full text of the reviews from the New York Times. A separate index  covering 1920-1979 makes it convenient to find a review when you do not know the exact date.

New York Times Index 1851-to present (Microfilm)
The full-text articles of this national newspaper from 1851 to the present is available on microfilm.  Most current issues available in Periodicals Service.

How To Review A Play

This link includes information about preparation for attending a production, what to do when you attend, and how to write the review. 
**Courtesy of The Writing Center @ The University of Wisconsin-Madison

Internet Broadway Database

Created by the research department of the League of American Theatres and Producers, IBDB is the official database for Broadway theater information from the beginning until the present. The producers of the database pride themselves on their accuracy and comprehensiveness, and note that "the value of IBDB is its searchability." Derived primarily from theater programs (in most cases from a production's opening night), with supplemental information taken from periodicals, theatrical textbooks, interviews with theater professionals, and League archives, information includes cast/crew, production dates, venue, and other pertinent data. -- Choice Review