Skip to main content

Racial and Ethnic Political Behavior (Course Number: 32-304-03): Home

This guide is designed to help you locate library resources for Dr. Huang's fall 2012 Racial and Ethnic Political Behavior class.

Ask for Help

E-mail is the best and fastest way to contact us. You can e-mail us at seippr@southwestern.edu and reneauj@southwestern.edu.

For human help stop at the Reference Desk, 1st floor, A. Frank Smith, Jr. Library

Call us at (512) 863-1549

Or Ask a Librarian below!

 facebook

Off Campus Access to Article Databases

If you are off campus, clicking on links in this guide to databases that are licensed by the library for access by SU faculty, students, and staff will prompt you to log in using your SUID and password. Once you've logged in, you should remain authenticated for the duration of that browser session and be able to access additional library subscription sources without interruption.

Relevant Research Guides

Legislative Politics LibGuide, prepared by Joan Parks. 

Finding News Sources LibGuide, prepared by Sarah Morris

Finding Statistical Information LibGuide, prepared by Joan Parks and Sarah Morris

Who Gets Represented LibGuide, prepared by Joan Parks

Welcome

This guide will help you locate library resources for Dr. Huang's Race and Ethnic Political Behavior Class.  It highlights the wide variety of resources the Smith Library Center has to offer both in print and electronically, as well as information about InterLibrary Loan and citations.  Please note my contact information to the left and the Ask a Librarian chat box to the left - remember, librarians are here to help you.

Around the library...

Key Databases

There are a view key databases that will help you with your research.  This list is intended to be a quick reference for you after you are comfortable searching.  Please select the "Find an Article" tab above to help familiarize yourself with searching and learn tips.

  • Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
    A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals over a wide variety of subjects.  It is an excellent place to begin any research project.
  • Political Science Complete (Ebsco)
    Political Science Complete provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
  • JSTOR (Journal Storage Online)
    JSTOR is an online archive of academic journals in all fields, including public policy and political science. Articles generally become available here 3-5 years after publication. Users can browse the complete table of contents for every volume and issue, or search for words or phrases in the full text of the article, author and abstracts. JSTOR reproduces the full journal articles on screen as they appear in the printed paper version. Graphs, photographs, and other images are included. For more focused results, use Advanced Search link.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    LexisNexis Academic provides full text and citation access to information in the reference, business, medical, and legal disciplines. The vast majority of the titles on LexisNexis Academic are available in full text. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-K’s, 10-Q’s, and their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. This is an excellent database for finding current newspaper articles. 

  • HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index Online
    Online version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index, the principal index for over 400 key journals relating to Hispanics in the United States, Central and South America, Mexico and the Caribbean. Among the many subjects included are geography, archaeology, anthropology, ethnography, folklore, religion, art, literature, drama, and film. Indexes journals published throughout the Western world from 1970-present.

  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Ethnic NewsWatch is a full text collection of 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Complete articles dating back to 1995 are available. More than 7,500 new articles are added each month. The database is searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Ethnic NewsWatch provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics. Advanced Search Mode.

  • SocINDEX with Full Text (Ebsco)
    The world’s most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 344 “core” coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 “priority” coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers. Find research related to ethnicity and race in sociological literature.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Keep in mind Google Scholar is a broad search engine, be sure to make sure the sources it returns are credible research before using them.  An advanced search scholar page lets you use Boolean.  Sometimes you will get the abstract of the articles, and in so cases. the full-text article.

Remember!  The SU Library offers subject specific databases to find current articles.  If you know which database you want to use go to Databases A-Z.  If you need help deciding which database to use, go to Databases by Subject.

Reference Desk Hours Fall 2012

Sun: 1pm - 10pm
Mon - Thurs : 10am -10pm
Fri: 10am - 5pm