Skip to main content

Race, Ethnicity, and Politics (32-304-03) -- Guide to Library Resources: Journals and Articles

Ethnocultural and Feminist Studies Databases

The following databases provide more targeted information on various ethnic, economic, social, and gender identity groups and include sociology and anthroplogy journals, studies, and articles.

HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index Online
Online version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index, the principal index for over 400 key journals relating to Hispanics in the United States, Central and South America, Mexico and the Caribbean. Among the many subjects included are geography, archaeology, anthropology, ethnography, folklore, religion, art, literature, drama, and film. Indexes journals published throughout the Western world from 1970-present.

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas)
PRISMA is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese and English language content.

Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Highly recommended comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Provides in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. Coverage varies; some as early as 1991-present. Updated quarterly.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full text collection of 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Complete articles dating back to 1995 are available. More than 7,500 new articles are added each month. The database is searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Ethnic NewsWatch provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics.

Women's Studies International
Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research supporting the curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.

General Sociology and Anthropology Databases

The following databases contain journals and articles regarding sociology and anthropology.

SocioINDEX with Full Text (via EbscoHost)
The world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. This database also includes full text for books and monographs, and full text for conference papers.

Annual Review of Sociology, 1975-2002 (via JSTOR)
Comprehensive, authoritative, and critical reviews written by the world's leading scientists.  Library subscribes to the JSTOR database that includes this journal. Click directly on the journal year and then the specific issue to retrieve all records indexed for that issue. Current issues are not available in JSTOR but are located at call number 301.05 An78, 2nd floor of the A. Frank Smith Library.

Academic Search Complete (via EbscoHost)
An all-purpose academic database covering many disciplines, including sociology and anthropology.  For information on searching in Academic Search Complete, go here. For information on searching in Academic Search Complete, go here.  

Google Scholar is a collection "of peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and technical reports" made available by agreements with publishers, associations, universities and others.  Clicking on the title on your results page will take you to an abstract of the article, and in some cases, the full text article.  Please note that for complete coverage of a topic you will need to search the subscription databases, paid for by the A. Frank Smith Library Center.


Social Science Databases

The following databases contain journals and articles useful for research in the social sciences, including the fields of sociology and anthropology.

A general search engine for popular as well as scholarly publications whose primary subject is political science, international relations and law.  Includes full-text of reference books and conference papers.
 

JSTOR
JSTOR is an online archive of academic journals in all fields. Articles generally become available here 3-5 years after publication. Users can browse the complete table of contents for every volume and issue, or search for words or phrases in the full text of the article, author and abstracts. JSTOR reproduces the full journal articles on screen as they appear in the printed paper version. Graphs, photographs, and other images are included.

Genderwatch
This database focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

This link provides access to over 1,800 full-text journals focusing on the areas of Behavioral Sciences; Biomedical & Life Sciences; Business & Economics; Chemistry; Computer Science; Earth & Environmental Science; Humanities, Social Sciences & Law; Mathematics & Statistics; and Physics & Astronomy. Most content begins with 1997 and continues to the most recent issue.


Image of Margaret Mead courtesy of Wikimedia and the Creative Commons