Skip to main content

FYS: Food, Health and French Culture: Start Here

Many Americans are obsessed with healthy eating, but are plagued by food related health problems. In contrast, the French consume a decadent diet, yet enjoy a low rate of obesity and heart disease.

WorldCat

Overview

This Guide will help you use the library to find resources for work you will do in Prof. Mathieu's Fall 2017 FYS, Food, Health and French Culture.

Your library session will provide tips for searching for materials in our library, and will give you a variety of tools to use as you find and cite:

  • Scholarly books and articles
  • Popular/journalistic (non-scholarly) books and articles
  • Primary sources (e.g. photographs, contemporary newspaper articles)

Suggested Food and Health Web Sites

Try these sources to get background information

Credo Reference

To find articles, go to Credo Reference and search for topics your professor has suggested.  You will get a long list of entries in reference books; notice the title of the encyclopedia each article is published in,  as well as the bibliography provided at the end of each article.  You can also continue your research to another library resource, like WorldCat or Academic Search Complete.

Think of this source as an academic substitute for Wikipedia. 

Search on : 

  • Genetically modified foods
  • Organic farming
  • Green Revolution
  • Pesticides and organic foods
  • Industrialized farming
  • Food additives
  • Food labeling
  • Vertical farming
  • Soda tax
  • Whole foods vs. processed foods

Return to FYS / AES Research Hub

                  

Clicking Cullen the Parrot will return you to the Research Hub.

Where to Find Scholarly Sources

Smith Library Center subscribes to various databases that, when searched, will yield many articles and essays on the broad subject of the food culture.  Articles are constantly added to these databases.  A keyword search will yield many academic articles. 

WorldCat Local, Academic Search Complete and JSTOR may be particularly useful for research on the food culture.

  • What is in a database?    What subjects are being covered?  What type of materials (journals, books, book chapters, dissertations,) are included?  Check "Help."
  • What does it search?  Can you search by keyword, subject, author, title.  What does default search mean?  How do you switch to other types of searching?  Is there a drop-down box for subject searching?
  • How does it search?  Connected by OR (any of the words), or AND (all of the words).  OR will broaden a search; and will narrow a search.
  • Should I search by keyword or subject?  Start with a keyword search. Keyword allows you to search any word or phrase you can think of, and will look in all fields of the record, yet  many of these items may not be relevant to your search.  Then scroll down, and click on the Subject terms listed for that item to find more sources, which are yielding fewer but more relevant results.
  • Does it search controlled vocabulary?  Most databases offer the option of searching by controlled  subject terms .  These terms are collected in an online thesaurus.
  • What if I can too many results?  Narrow your search by selecting specific dates, language, publication types, and more.  Another quick way is to type more terms in your search box.  Add more concepts.  Also look at the controlled vocabulary (subject headings) assigned to each record page.

Academic Search Complete is a database that covers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles from a wide range of academic areas. It is one of many databases the library  subscribes to.

 Tip: When you view a full record for an article, read the abstract, or summary, to quickly ascertain if it is relevant to your research. 

CQ Researcher publishes 44 unbiased, heavily researched reports each year on timely and often controversial issues relating to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are written by “seasoned” journalists and include a link to the author’s brief biography.

Note: CQ Researcher is not a peer reviewed journal.

Example:  Genetically Modified Food, August 31st, 2012

 

Covering the Human Impact on the Environment

‚ÄčSubjects Include:

  • Global climate change
  • Green building
  • Pollution
  • Sustainable agriculture
  • Renewable energy
  • Recycling

Food and food industry is covered. Types of materials : scholarly journals, trade magazines, books, conference papers, reports, and magazine articles.

All peer-reviewed journal articles, with full-text.  Substantive  articles about food and the consumer.

Lots of consumer health magazines.

Search on:  

  • organic food benefits
  • processed foods and health

WorldCat Local has the ability to search for books, audiovisual materials, and journals as well as our most popular databases (including Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, and Project Muse). Learn more about WorldCat Local. Learn more by viewing the Searching page in this guide.

The library has subscriptions to databases containing scholarly articles in many subject areas. Databases featured in this box are particularly useful for this class.

Reading the abstract will help you decide if the article was what you were looking for, or not.

Loading

Vertical Farming (Indoor Farming)

Farm and Food Leadership Conference | McKinney, Texas

September 24-26, 2017 | Historic Downtown McKinney

111 N. Tennessee St., McKinney, TX 75069

Do you want to …

  • Get the latest news about sustainable farming and local foods? 

  • Connect with other people who are passionate about these issues?

  • Be able to make a difference for the future of local agriculture?

  • Then join us at this year’s Farm & Food Leadership Conferenceon September 25-27 in Bastrop, Texas!