Skip to main content

East Asian Art

Research aid for students in Dr. Miller's courses at Southwestern University

ArtStor Digital Library

ArtStor image database contains over 2 million images of artworks and cultural objects, many contributed by museums and archives. Users can search and download images, create and share groups, generate Powerpoint presentations, and utilize content for any scholarly purpose.

 

Note that you MUST register for an account from an on-campus computer/device. Then you can log in from anywhere. It only takes a moment to register, so take care of it early. 

The ArtStor YouTube channel has instructional videos on registering, searching, downloading, and organizing images. Watch this lengthy video, or skip around to relevant parts:

Other Art Image Sites/Sources

Google Art Project Growing collection of high resolution images and virtual views of museums and galleries. Try these and more for Asian art: Tokyo National Museum, Hong Kong Museum of Art, Freer and Sackler Galleries at the Smithsonian, LACMA, Harvard Art Museum, Royal Ontario Museum. Today Art Museum (Beijing), Hiroshige Museum, National Palace Museum Taiwan, National Museum of Korea, Asia Society New York.

Oxford Art Online Contains images from art history reference sources, including Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and more. You can search for articles and text, but it also has an image collection. Check the 'images' box underneath the search bar.

WorldImages
A database of more than 80,000 images, including artwork, from the California State University IMAGE project.

Bridgeman Art Library Archive
An archive of images from collections throughout the world; part of Credo Reference.

The Met Collection Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York has made all of its images public domain. You may download these and do anything you like with them under their creative commons license. (These images are also available via ArtStor.)