Skip to main content

Kinesiology and Exercise & Sport Studies: Subject Guide: Books

Find information about the areas of Kinesiology and Exercise & Sports Studies.

WorldCat

Selected Books from Smith Library Center

Finding Books

Browsing the Shelves

Books covering physical education, sports medicine, nutrition, and sports business and management can be found in several areas of the library. Here are the breakdowns by Dewey Decimal numbers and location:

Second Floor of the SLC

  • 338: Economics & Business (includes sports business and management)
  • 370-69: Education (includes physical education)
  • 394.12: Food culture and food habits (includes nutrition)
  • 610-19: Health & Medicine (includes sports medicine, nutrition, and physical education)

Third Floor of the SLC

  • 796: Athletics & Sports (includes physical education, sports business, and sports culture)

Searching the Catalog

Simultaneously search the catalogs of over 10,000 libraries worldwide, including major research libraries. The SLC's WorldCat catalog is a great place to search and browse for books online. Here are some effective ways to search for books on kinesiology topics.

Basic Keyword Search

The catalog's default search setting is a basic keyword search:

This often brings up lots of results, many of which may not be useful for your assignments. Instead, try limiting your search results by using the filters located to the LEFT of every list of search results. They can help you narrow a search that has too many results or too many irrelevant results. When there are many options for limiting in a category (usually seen with the topic and author limiters) only some will initially display. Click "show more" to see additional options.

 

Books Online

ProQuest E-Book Central

Collection of 130,000+ books from scholarly publishers covering a wide variety of academic disciplines. Browsable by subject areas or searchable across the entire collection. Books can be read online or downloaded for offline use for up to 2 weeks. To download or take advantage of features such as annotating, printing, or bookmarking, users will need to create a personal ebrary account. (An Adobe Digital Editions account is also required for downloading a book.) Note: Frank Smith Library has a subscription for an *unlimited* number of users and borrowers.
 

 

EBSCO E-books

Browse and select academic e-book collections for academic libraries, containing high-quality titles from a broad range of subject and topic areas