Skip to main content

French Language and Literature: Subject Guide: Journals and Articles

Databases with French Language Content

Most of the online indexes listed below are predominantly English-language, but they all include some materials in French.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Journals representing all major faiths, major denominations, and language groups are included.

Biological Abstracts

The Biological Abstracts database is a complete collection of bibliographic references to life sciences journal literature published around the world. Topics include agriculture, agronomy, biochemistry, biotechnology, environment, genetics, medicine, microbiology, and pharmacology.

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

Index to periodical articles on dance, film, drama/theater, stagecraft, broadcast arts, and more. IIPA draws its content from more than 225 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events.

JSTOR

An electronic archive of scholarly journals from the humanities, social sciences, and the natural sciences.

MLA International Bibliography

Indexes the world's research literature in language, linguistics, and literature. Access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.

Project MUSE

Provides full image journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, in particular the areas of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others

The Philosopher's Index

The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields, beginning in 1940. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysics logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

Women's Studies International

Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research supporting the curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education.

WorldCat

Access to listings of the holdings of library collections worldwide including Smith Library Center.

Literary Databases

The following databases contain journals and articles to help you conduct literary research.

MLA International Bibliography
Search here for articles in French on literary topics. 

ARTFL Project
Try ARTFL for searchable French language texts, bibliographies, reference works, and more.

For information in English on authors who write in other languages, try the sources below.

Literature Resource Center
Biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information in English on authors and their works, including authors of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism. Access to many of Gale's literary sources, including; Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select.

Voice of the Shuttle: Literatures Other Than English: French
Sites concerned with literature written in French.

French Language Print Periodicals

The following are some of the print periodicals, or journals, available at the library in French.