Skip to main content

Law and Legal Studies: Subject Guide: Journals and Articles

Legal Studies Databases

The following databases contain journals and articles regarding law and legal studies.

Legal Collection (Ebscohost)

The EBSCOhost Legal Collection covers more than 250 scholarly peer-reviewed journals in law and related fields. It includes research-oriented journals from the social sciences and traditional law review journals. Topics include criminal justice, labor and human resources law, environmental law, and more. Includes information from 1965 to the present.PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.

LexisNexis Academic (Legal Research)

LEXIS/NEXIS Academic is an online service composed of legal, general and international news, reference, and business sources. Statutes, regulations and cases, can be accessed using LexisNexis. The service is particularly useful to retrieve United States Court cases. Additionally, the service includes full-text law review and legal news articles. 

Political Science Complete (Ebscohost)

A general search engine for popular as well as scholarly publications whose primary subject is political science.Includes full-text of reference books and conference papers.

SpringerLink

This link provides access to over 1,800 full-text journals focusing on the areas of Behavioral Sciences; Biomedical & Life Sciences; Business & Economics; Chemistry; Computer Science; Earth & Environmental Science; Humanities, Social Sciences & Law; Mathematics & Statistics; and Physics & Astronomy. Most content begins with 1997 and continues to the most recent issue.

Academic Search Complete (Ebscohost)

A comprehensive, multi-disciplinary, all-purpose academic database covering many disciplines, including law and legal studies.  For information on searching in Academic Search Complete, go here.

Environmental Index (Ebscohost)

Environment Index offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Government Sources

FirstGov.gov
A gateway to online federal government information, and it includes links to other government websites.

GPO Access
Is the website for the United States government publications.

THOMAS
Maintained by the Library of Congress, the service includes legislative information. Bill texts, bill summaries, public laws, roll call votes, committee reports, the Congressional Record and other legislative information

Supreme CourtImage courtesy of Flickr and the Creative Commons