Skip to main content

Citing Sources: Citation Tools

Managing Your Citations

There are a number of tools available to help you create and manage your citations. However, it is important to have some familiarity with the citation style you are using, and it is important to double check the citations you create using tools.A tool doesn't always know if you've entered in something incorrectly, and copying citations from various output sources can sometimes result in thing not appearing as they should.

The more familiar you are with the citation style you are using, the less likely you are to make a mistake, regardless of how you create the citation.

Creating Citations: Mac and PC Word Processors

Sometimes you might decide to create and format a citation yourself in your word processor of choice. But, you might be wondering how to make that tiny footnote number appear, or how to make a hanging indent (yes, that's a thing). Fear not. There is help to be found.

If you are using Microsoft Word, check out this tutorial from Microsoft - Bibliography Tutorial for Word

And feel free to ask a librarian for help if you have additional questions.

Viewing Citations: Voyager

When you find a book in the  Voyager catalog, you can pull up citations for the item. Click on the book you want and open up the record for it. To the right side of the screen, you will see a box with various options, including one for generating citations.

Click "Cite this item" to display a list of citations for the item in various styles (such as MLA, Chicago, APA, etc.). You can copy out the citation style you need for use in a bibliography or works cited. You can also manually copy the citation into a system such as RefWorks, where you can manage and generate citations.

Exporting Citations: EBSCO and JSTOR

Many of the databases available at the library have ways for you to view and export citations. We'll look at two of the most popular database systems here as examples - the EBSCO system (which hosts the Academic Search Complete database) and JSTOR. If you need help figuring out how citations work in another database, don't hesitate to ask a librarian.

In databases on EBSCO, you can export citations to a variety of different places, including RefWorks.

When you pull up an article, you'll see a menu with various options to the right. Click the "Export" button to export a citation to a citation management tool such as Zotero. When you export something to Zotero you are prompted to log in. Once you log in you can specify the citation style you'd like to use.

You can also view a citation in EBSCO much as you can in the Voyager system.  Click the "Cite" button to view a list of citations for your article in various styles (MLA, APA, Chicago).

This can be a useful feature if you just need to copy a full citation into something like an Annotated Bibliography, where you are not concerned with in-text citations.

Likewise, the JSTOR database has a menu with various citation options.

When you select an article you can email a citation, export one to RefWorks, or simply view citations in various styles.