Skip to main content

Social Patterns and Processes -- Resources @ SLC: Articles/Databases

Library guide for SOC34-114-02, Fall semester. Professor Angela Frederick's class.

What is a database?

A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals, chapters in books and books.  Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors. In other words these are paid subscription databases not available from the open internet.

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or personal folder or e-mailed to your personal mailbox for later use.

Sociology Journals

Databases

The SU Library offers subject specific electronic databases to find current articles.  If you know which database you want to use go to Databases A-Z.  If you need help deciding which database to use, go to Databases by Subject.

Where is the full text of the article?

Now that you have found an article on your topic in a database, how do you view the article itself?
    Check to see if it is full text in the database you are searching.

     Check the Full Text Journal Links by typing in the journal name to locate a database which contains the full text. Search on: Race, Gender & Class.
    Check the SU Online Catalog to see if we have a print subscription to the journal.

      If you are still unable to see the article, request it through the Interlibrary Loan Form on the Library's home page.