Skip to Main Content

Company & Industry Research: Locating Info

Finding and using important business information resources

Helpful Databases

Business Abstracts with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
EconLit This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window

List of Business & Management Journals and Publications available at SLC
This list shows where you can search for the online journals the library has access to.
List of Economics Journals & Publications at SLC
This list shows which databases contain Economics-related titles of online journals, news, and magazines.

Other helpful resources

Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as the necessary tools and instructions to address a wide-range of small business topics. In addition, it provides business videos, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans.
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
An abundance of career information spanning various industries, trades, and professions. Contains data on salaries by state, training & education requirements, and career exploration tools.

Survey of Current Business
Accurate and objective government publication. Comprehensive report on business activity and estimates and analyses the U.S. economy. Created by the Bureau of Economic Analysis.
Investor's Business Daily
IBD Digital provides exclusive stock lists, market data and research, helping investors take advantage of the CAN SLIM system to make more money in the stock market. Subscription based site.
Cabot Wealth
Find the Cabot Market Growth newsletter and other investing information here.
Bloomberg News
First 2 articles online for free. For full, free access, search for Bloomberg.com articles in the Business Source Complete database.

Company & Industry Databases and Library Resources by Topic:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window

International Directory of Company Histories

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window

International Directory of Company Histories

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window

International Directory of Company Histories v.1-75
Library has volume 1-75.
338.74
In8

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window

International Directory of Company Histories

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window

*SWOT is an acronym for Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window

US Department of Commerce Bureau of Economic Analysis

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window

Tutorials and How-To

Dorsey Wright Tutorial
PnF University FAQ
Morningstar Community Discussion Boards
Seeking Alpha
This portion of their website contains investment and financial education topics.
Valueline Tutorials
Guides and examples of how to use Valueline.
IbisWorld Help Center
Get help using this database.
more...less...
If you are off-campus, you may have to sign into the proxy server with your SUeID and password to authenticate your account.

Get It!: Interlibrary loan and acquisitions requests

For items we don't own, our library can either borrow the item from another library or purchase it for the collection.

The first time you use Get It!, you'll need to sign up for an account with your SUeID and password.

Visit the Business & Economics Subject Guide

Business and Economics: Subject Guide
by Katherine Hooker Last Updated Jan 28, 2024 5 views this year

Your Subject Librarian

Katherine Hooker

Email Me

Contact:

SLC 103B

(512) 863-1024

Subjects: Accounting, Advanced Entry Seminar, Art & Art History, Business, First Year Seminar, French Language & Literature, German Language & Literature, Health Studies, Images and Videos, Primary Sources, Spanish Language & Literature, Theatre and Dance

Last Updated: Jan 28, 2024 5:02 PM
URL: https://infoguides.southwestern.edu/companyindustry
Print Page

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Data and Statistics, Economics

Tags: business, data, demographics, econometrics, economic development, economics, finance, investments, statistics