Skip to main content

Education: Subject Guide: Start Here

This guide will point you to various education-related resources available through Southwestern.

Library Information and Research Help

Your friendly SLC Librarians: 

From off-campussimply provide your SUeID & password to authenticate yourself and gain access to the library's databases. 

TIP: Make sure you're logging into the yellow Southwestern login screen, NOT the database's login screen.

Never pay for articles; the library can get that information for you for from another source. Ask a librarian.

Need help writing or citing your paper?

  • Printed style manuals are located on the shelves of SLC in the Research Commons and in the Main Collection. 

Smith Library has 24-hour student building access (with ID card) for most of the week during the normal fall and spring semesters.

Always check the library website for the most current operational hours.

Loading

Some Education Books in our Collections

The CRAAP Test can help you determine if a source is appropriate for your research

Five qualities to consider when evaluating information found online or in print sources.

Currency: the timeliness of the information

  • When was the information published or posted?
  • Has the information been revised or updated?
  • Is the information current or out-of date for your topic?
  • Are the links functional?

Relevance: the importance of the information for your needs

  • Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
  • Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
  • Would you be comfortable using this source for a research paper?

Authority: the source of the information

  • Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
  • Are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations given?
  • What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
  • What are the author's qualifications to write on the topic?
  • Is there contact information, such as a publisher or e-mail address?
  • Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?
    • examples: .com (commercial), .edu (educational), .gov (U.S. government), .org (nonprofit organization), or .net (network)

Accuracy: the reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content

  • Where does the information come from?
  • Is the information supported by evidence?
  • Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
  • Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
  • Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
  • Are there spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?

Purpose: the reason the information exists

  • What is the purpose of the information? to inform? teach? sell? entertain? persuade?
  • Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
  • Is the information fact? opinion? propaganda?
  • Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
  • Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?
Loading

Education Web Resources

Center for Multilingual, Multicultural Research
Multicultural megasite from the University of Southern California with extensive links and resources.

The Children's Literature Web Guide
Gathers together and categorizes a broad array of Internet resources related to books for children and young adults. The site is well organized, updated regularly and has its own search engine.

Discovery Education - School Resources
Home of the Lesson Plans Library. Includes other useful features for classroom use.

Ed.gov (Department of Education)
A fully searchable, comprehensive site from the U.S. Department of Education. Arranged into major categories such as Research & Statistics and Grants & Contracts. Very useful A to Z Index .

Education Report Card
This site provides reports that assess the educational system of each state in several categories, e.g., academic achievement, academic achievement of low-income and minority students, return on investment, rigor of standards, and postsecondary and workforce readiness.

EduHound: Everything for Education K-12
The site includes links to resources for most subjects taught in the K-12 curriculum and also provides links to community resources (e.g., museums), grants and funding, and professional sites for teachers (e.g., associations, publications, governmental agencies, and curriculum standards). Users can browse by subject categories, by lesson plans, or by "site sets," which are targeted resource collections on specific topics.

FREE: Federal resources for educational excellence
Incredibly content rich site of teaching and learning resources provided by more than 30 federal agencies.

The Gateway,org
Provides educators with quick and easy access to thousands of educational resources found on various federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial Internet sites.

The Knowledge Loom
Review research, identify best practices, and participate in online events and discussions and discover supporting organizations and resources. A content rich site.

LD Online

Interactive guide to learning disabilities for parents, teachers and children.

Music Education Online

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The essential place to go for extensive statistics on American education.

The National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities
NICHCY provides information on disabilities and disability-related issues for families, educators, and other professionals. Especially useful here is an extensive list of resources by state.

New York Times on the Web Learning Network
Provides access to lesson plans and news articles appropriate for use in the K-12 classroom.

PBS Teachers
Includes over 3,000 free lesson plans and activities.

School psychology resources online
Research learning disabilities, ADHD, functional behavioral assessment, autism, adolescence, parenting, psychological assessment, special education, mental retardation, mental health, and more.

SERI: Special education resources on the Internet
A site with very extensive listings created to make on-line Special Education resources easily and readily available in one location.

Smithsonian Education
Central education website of the Smithsonian Institution with lesson plans and other resources for educators.

TeachNet
Teachers Network is a nationwide, educational non-profit organization. The website offers lesson plans and other helpful resources. One section is devoted to information specifically For New Teachers.