Skip to main content

Feminist Studies: Subject Guide: Primary sources

Resources for your feminist studies research in the Smith Library Center and on the Web

Select primary sources in the SLC

Select primary sources online

Many collections of primary sources are available freely on the Web.  Some are listed in the History Links box on the Web Resources tab above. 

These additional collections of primary sources are available only to Southwestern University users:

Salem History  To limit your search to primary sources, first search for your topic using keywords, then click on the "Primary Source" tab.

Women in the National Archives Includes a searchable collection of over 5,000 pages of manuscript documents relating to women's suffrage in Britain 1903-1928, and the granting of women's suffrage in the British Empire, 1930-1962.

Women Writers Online A fully searchable full text database of pre-Victorian women's writing in English.

Women's and Gender Studies: A Research Guide from the New York Public Library; scroll down for a list of primary sources.

Select primary sources in the SU Special Collections

Collections

Jessie Daniel Ames Collection

Ames was a well-known suffragist and anti-lynching activist. This small collection reflects her retirement interests and activities and primarily contains clippings, articles, and cartoons related to politics and social issues. She placed many of these into scrapbooks on specific subjects, such as "The Negro and the Schools, 1954-1956" and "Foreign Policy and Foreign Relations, 1954-1958." One document case contains personal notes and correspondence, most of which is with family members, especially her daughter, Lulu. Ames, a Southwestern University alumna (1902), also donated a large portion of her library to the University.

Bertha McKee Dobie Collection

The Bertha McKee Dobie Collection reflects her life and work as an author, editor, naturalist, and wife of author J. Frank Dobie.  The collection contains correspondence, memorabilia, manuscripts, personal documents, and books from her personal library. She graduated from Southwestern in 1910 and was given Southwestern’s Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1973.

John G. Tower Papers

Senator Tower, a Southwestern alumnus, represented Texas in the United States Senate from 1961 through 1984. His papers provide insight into the events of the 1960s through the 1980s, including the Vietnam War, civil rights, the rise of the Republican Party in Texas and the South, women's issues, and abortion. The collection contains papers and manuscripts, printed materials, videotapes, audiocassettes, films, photographs, memorabilia and artifacts, microfilm, and a few electronic recordsAlthough Tower was well-known for his conservative values, he veered from the party stance on key issues related to women: he supported abortion rights and he voted for the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA).

Books