Skip to main content

Feminist Studies: Subject Guide: Journals & articles

Resources for your feminist studies research in the Smith Library Center and on the Web

Where's the full text?

Once you have found a citation for a useful article in an index or database, where can you view the full text of the article?

  • Check to see if the full-text is available in the database you are using.
  • Check the link to Online Periodicals on the library's home page. Type in the title of the journal you want, to find out if the full-text is available in other databases.
  • Check WorldCat Local to see if we have the journal in print or on microfilm.
  • If you can't find the article in any of these sources, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Feminist studies databases

These indexes and databases focus specifically on women, gender, and feminism.

The Chicana Studies Index: Twenty Years of Gender Research, 1971-1991, REFERENCE, 1st floor 305.48 C432 
A useful print index for Chicana Studies.

Women's Studies Index REFERENCE, 1st floor 305.4 W8424
A print index to women's studies periodicals.  Holdings cover 1989 to 2002, so current articles are not included.

Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research, supporting the curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education. Coverage dates back to 1972. Sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, web sites & web documents, and "gray" literature. Add additional databases to your search using the EBSCOhost gateway.

Other databases

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Feminist Studies, databases in many different subject areas will be useful. Find lists of the library's databases at Databases A-Z and Databases by Subject. Depending on your topic, some of the following databases may be helpful: